Article page leader image 1024x400-history.jpg

Matagami Mine

Our history

The Matagami Mine is proud to have contributed to the economic vitality of the region for more than a half-century. 

1957

The first mineral deposits in the Matagami region were discovered in 1957, and the first of these to be confirmed viable was the Matagami Lake deposit. Mine development and concentrator construction efforts got underway in 1959 and continued until 1963, when mining and concentrate operation began. 

In the years that followed, a total of 12 sulphide deposits were discovered and two additional mines (Orchan and New Hosco) went into production. A second concentrator run by Orchan Mines Limited, a subsidiary of Noranda, was commissioned that same year. The tailings from both concentrators were pumped to the Matagami tailings site. 

1970

An open pit started at the Matagami Lake mine (MLM) facility in 1970.  

1973-74

In 1973–1974, the tailings site was divided up for the first time in order to increase capacity, with the new Garon Lake and Norita mines starting up in 1973 and 1976, respectively. 

1979

By 1979, the Orchan mine reserves were exhausted, but the Orchan concentrator continued to operate until 1982 to process ore from other active mines. Between the decommissioning of this concentrator and the closure of MLM in 1988, all processed ore came from the Matagami Lake and Norita sites. Once the MLM reserves had been exhausted, the concentrator continued to treat ore from other nearby mines as well as the tailings of the Abcourt mine between 1985 and 1990. 

1989

The Isle-Dieu mine started up in 1989 and remained in operation until 1997.

1995-96

In 1995–1996, a new tailings dam was built to create an additional pond where tailings were deposited from 1995 onward.

1997

The Isle-Dieu mine closed in late 1997, and concentrator operations were suspended until the Bell-Allard mine opened in June 1998. 

2002

Work on the tailings site in 2002 made it possible to increase its capacity. Tailings were routed into this section between 2003 and February 2015. 

2004

When the Bell-Allard mine was closed in November 2004, the concentrator was put on “inactive” status until the Perseverance mine started production in May 2008. During this three-and-a-half-year period, the concentrator was used solely to manage and treat surface runoff water from the MLM and Orchan sites.  

2006

Development work at the Perseverance mine began in fall 2006, with commercial production kicking off on July 1, 2008. Operation ended in May 2013. Underground backfill operations were ongoing until March 2014.  

2007

The Bracemac-McLeod deposit was discovered in 2007. Development work commenced in the first quarter of 2010, and commercial production was up and running by May 2013. The tailings site was divided up once again, this time to accommodate the waste generated by the Bracemac-McLeod mine.

2010

In 2010, a new lens, known as the McLeod Deep lens, was discovered. Mining of this deposit began in 2018 and will wrap up in June 2022.

Article page leader image 1024x400-history.jpg

Mine Matagami

Notre histoire

Mine Matagami est fière d’avoir contribué à la vitalité économique de la région pendant plus d’un demi-siècle. 

1957

C’est en 1957 que les premiers gisements de la région de Matagami ont été découverts. Le premier gisement exploitable confirmé a été celui de Lac Matagami. Le développement de la mine et la construction du concentrateur et des autres installations se sont déroulés de 1959 à 1963, date à laquelle le minage et la production de concentré de zinc ont commencé.

À cette époque, quelque 12 gisements de sulfure avaient déjà été découverts et deux autres mines, soit les mines Orchan et New Hosko, ont aussi atteint le stade de la production. Un second concentrateur opéré par Orchan Mines Limited, une filiale de Noranda, est entré en fonction la même année. Les résidus produits par ces deux concentrateurs étaient acheminés par conduite jusqu’au parc à résidus miniers.

1970

À partir de 1970, l’exploitation à ciel ouvert de la mine Lac Matagami (MLM) a débuté.

1973-74

En 1973-74, le parc à résidus miniers a été compartimenté une première fois pour en accroître la capacité en vue de l’exploitation des nouvelles mines Lac Garon (1973) et Norita (1976).

1979

En 1979, bien que les réserves de la mine Orchan aient été épuisées, le concentrateur Orchan a été maintenu en activité jusqu’en 1982 pour traiter le minerai des autres mines actives. Après la fermeture du concentrateur Orchan en 1982, et ce, jusqu’à la fermeture de la mine Lac Matagami en 1988, le minerai traité à MLM provenait des mines Lac Matagami et Norita. Après l’épuisement des réserves de la mine Lac Matagami, le concentrateur MLM a été maintenu actif pour traiter le minerai provenant des autres mines de la région et les résidus de la mine Abcourt entre 1985 et 1990.

1989

L’année 1989 a marqué le début du minage à la mine Isle-Dieu, qui a été en activité jusqu’en 1997.

1995-96

En 1995-96, une nouvelle digue a été construite au parc à résidus afin de créer un bassin supplémentaire où les résidus ont été déversés à partir de 1995.

1997

À la fin de 1997, la mine Isle-Dieu a été fermée et le concentrateur a été placé dans un état « d’inactivité » jusqu’à l’ouverture de la mine Bell-Allard en juin 1998.

2002

En 2002, des travaux au parc à résidus ont permis d’augmenter sa capacité. Des résidus ont été déversés dans cette section à partir de 2003 jusqu’en février 2015.

2004

Après la fermeture de la mine Bell-Allard en novembre 2004, le concentrateur a été placé dans un état « d’inactivité » pendant trois ans et demi jusqu’en mai 2008, moment de la mise en exploitation de la mine Persévérance. Durant ce temps, seules les activités du concentrateur reliées à la gestion et au traitement des eaux de ruissellement des sites MLM et Orchan étaient en fonction.

2006

À l’automne 2006, la mise en valeur de la mine Persévérance a débuté. Les opérations de production commerciale ont officiellement commencé le 1er juillet 2008 et se sont terminées en mai 2013. Les opérations de remblayage souterrain se sont poursuivies jusqu’en mars 2014.

2007

Le gisement Bracemac-McLeod a été mis en évidence en 2007. Les travaux de mise en valeur ont débuté au premier trimestre de 2010 et la production commerciale en mai 2013. Le parc à résidus a une fois de plus été compartimenté afin de recevoir les résidus de la mine Bracemac-McLeod.

2010

En 2010, une nouvelle lentille sous le gisement McLeod a été découverte. Cette dernière a été nommée McLeod Deep. L’exploitation de McLeod Deep a débuté en 2018 et se terminera en juin 2022.