Communaute - AGIR.png

HORNE SMELTER

AGIR

Horne Smelter has been operating a sulfuric acid plant since 1989. This proven technology is widespread in the metallurgical industry. The plant treats process gases to convert them into sulfuric acid. Sulfur dioxide (SO2) is collected, cleaned, and converted to sulfur trioxide (SO3) before being turned into sulfuric acid.

This infrastructure is designed to reduce the environmental impact of the smelter’s operations. In fact, the Horne Smelter sulfuric acid plant is among the world’s most efficient, with a sulfur capture rate of over 96%—well above the 90% standard.

The sulfuric acid produced by Horne Smelter plant is of very high quality. It is resold on the market and used in the food, pharmaceutical, and fertilizer industries, among others.

Risk of SO2-SO3 leakage

Although highly unlikely, there is a risk of SO2 and SO3 gas leakage with the potential to impact the surrounding population. However, a leak can be immediately stopped by turning off the fan and shutting down the smelter. No such leaks or emergencies have ever occurred. In addition, a wide range of controls are in place to prevent any leakage:

  • Inspection and maintenance program
  • 14-unit leak detection system
  • Automatic plant shutdown system
  • Warning siren
  • AGIR instructions
  • Training for sulfuric acid plant employees 
  • Emergency measures

In 2000, a joint initiative was introduced by Horne Smelter, the city of Rouyn-Noranda, public health authorities, and Direction de Sécurité civile. Impact modelling was conducted, which led to the development of a management plan with the various stakeholders, including the AGIR instructions. A warning system (siren) was also implemented, in addition to a public communications strategy.

What is the AGIR campaign?

Since the first risk assessment was conducted in 2000, the population of the Notre-Dame neighbourhood has had time to change. In addition, modelling technology and applicable standards have evolved over time.

Since the modelling led to an adjustment of the security perimeter and the last information campaign on the risk of an SO2 and SO3 leak was conducted several years ago, a decision was made to roll out the campaign S'informer pour mieux AGIR (Find out more to better take action). In doing so, the smelter ensures that all residents inside the security perimeter know what to do in the event of an incident.

The warning siren

If an SO2 or SO3 leak occurs, a warning siren will sound. The siren sounds like the horn of a cargo ship. 

Note that siren tests are conducted every first Wednesday in March, June, September, and December. To avoid confusion, these tests are announced beforehand through:

  • Local radio stations
  • Horne Smelter’s Facebook page 

AGIR instructions

If you hear the siren of the sulfuric acid plant and are within the security perimeter, you must take the following actions (AGIR approach):

Communaute - AGIR - consignes de securite.png
Communaute - AGIR - perimetre de securite.png
Translation: Take shelter, Keep doors and windows closed, Turn off ventiliation and air conditioning, Watch TV, listen to the radio.

SAM, the automated message system for your safety and your family’s safety

The city of Rouyn-Noranda has implemented an automated message system (SAM) to reach citizens during an emergency, such as an SO2 or SO3 leak.

When necessary, a recorded phone message is sent to residents on the municipality’s call list. If you’re away, the system will leave a message on your voicemail.

Sign up or validate your information

Your contact information will automatically appear on the automated call list if your home, business, or industrial telephone number (landline) is listed in the white pages of a telephone directory. However, it’s best to validate your contact information by visiting the city of Rouyn-Noranda website.

If you have only a cell phone or if your phone number is unlisted, you must sign up for the automated message system. This involves creating an account with your cell phone number, adding the required personal information to your file, and updating the information whenever necessary.

You can sign up free of charge via the city’s website or directly at city hall. www.rouyn-noranda.ca/sam.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Why have I never heard of the risks associated with an SO2 and SO3 leak before?

A siren has been in place since 2000 to warn people in the event of a leak, even though a leak is unlikely. The siren is tested every three months and radio ads are broadcast to let people know about the test and remind them of the AGIR instructions. A message is also posted on the Horne Smelter Facebook page.

2. What controls are in place at Horne Smelter to prevent a leak?

The sulfuric acid plant is inspected and maintained daily. Also, the sulfuric acid plant is equipped with a leak detection system that is periodically upgraded. If concentrations above a certain level are detected, operations are automatically shut down.

Horne Smelter also has a contingency plan, which is updated annually. It is shared with various partners, like the fire department and the Sûreté du Québec, for example.

Finally, a warning siren may sound if there is a leak. The siren can be heard throughout the security perimeter and even beyond. If it sounds, the AGIR instructions are deployed and communicated by radio, television, and the automated message system (SAM).

3. Who is affected by the risk of leakage?

The risk associated with SO2 and SO3 concerns all citizens, institutions, businesses, and organizations located within the security perimeter.

4. What symptoms could I feel if a leak occurs?

Potential symptoms vary depending on the concentration of leaked SO2 or SO3. According to public health authorities, the following symptoms may be observed for concentrations of:

0 - 3 ppm 3 - 15 ppm > 15 ppm
Odour Nose and thorat irritation Respiratory irritation: rhinitis, laryngitis, bronchitis
Mild nose, eye, and throat irritation Cough, sneezing Bronchial constriction
  Conjuctivitis Potential for pulmonary edema
  Difficulty breathing Conjunctivitis with tearing
    Headache, nausea, and vomiting
5. Are emergency services ready to respond to a leak?

The city of Rouyn-Noranda’s municipal emergency preparedness plan is aligned with Horne Smelter’s emergency response plan. This plan includes a procedure to quickly assemble the teams responsible for assisting the population and carrying out emergency measures where necessary.

The city of Rouyn-Noranda’s Sûreté du Québec detachment, its fire department and emergency services department, ambulance services, and the municipal employees concerned are always ready to deal with an emergency, provide essential services, and inform the public of the required actions.

6. If the siren sounds, what should residents in the security perimeter do?

As soon as they hear the warning siren, citizens must apply the AGIR instructions:

  • Take shelter immediately inside your home or another building
  • Keep all doors and windows closed
  • Turn off all ventilation and air conditioning systems
  • Watch TV or listen to the radio for more information
7. What should citizens outside the perimeter do?

If there is a leak, citizens outside the security perimeter are not required to apply the AGIR instructions.

However, they may still feel symptoms. Even at lower concentrations, sensitive individuals outside the perimeter may smell a persistent odour of SO2 and may experience nose, eye, and throat irritation. Anyone who feels unwell should stay indoors and apply the AGIR instructions.

8. What happens to students at École Notre-Dame-de-Protection if the alarm sounds during school hours?

Although located on the edge of the perimeter, the school is encouraged to apply the AGIR instructions. We ask parents not to pick up their children, as the students will be inside and all doors and windows will be closed. Parents will be notified by the school once the lockdown notice is lifted.

9. How will I know when the notice is lifted?

The public will be notified that the notice is lifted through television and radio messages. Posts will also be made to the Horne Smelter Facebook page.

10. Sometimes there is a noticeable sulfur smell in the area. Is this from a leak?

No. Smells in the neighbourhood are often associated with poor weather conditions, most often northerly winds blowing into the city.

11. Why is there a sulfur smell in the neighbourhood if there is no leak?

There are two main reasons for this.

  1. Most sulfur dioxide odours that are noticeable in the neighbourhood are due to “fugitive emissions.” In the smelting process, sometimes, depending on vessel operation, certain gases are not fully captured by the main ventilation and are then sucked outside through the roof vents. These fugitive sulfur emissions can be smelled or perceived in the nearby neighbourhood.
  2. Another weather phenomenon can cause what’s called a downwash. When this happens, the gases coming out of the main stacks are downwashed or pushed to the ground instead of rising in altitude. This is when sulfur can also be smelled.

Communaute - AGIR.png

FONDERIE HORNE

AGIR

La Fonderie Horne opère une usine d'acide sulfurique depuis 1989. Il s'agit d'une technologie éprouvée et très commune dans l'industrie métallurgique. Cette usine traite les gaz de procédé afin de les convertir en acide sulfurique. Le dioxyde de soufre (SO2) est collecté, nettoyé et converti en trioxyde de soufre (SO3) avant d'être transformé en acide sulfurique.

Cette infrastructure vise à réduire l'impact environnemental des opérations de la fonderie. D'ailleurs, l'usine d'acide sulfurique de la Fonderie Horne est l'une des plus performantes au monde, avec un taux de captation du soufre de plus de 96 %, bien au-delà de la norme de 90 %.

L'acide sulfurique produit par les installations de la Fonderie Horne est de très haute qualité. Il est revendu sur les marchés et utilisé dans les domaines de l'alimentation, de l'industrie pharmaceutique et des fertilisants, entre autres.

Le risque de fuite SO2-SO3

Bien que très peu probable, il existe un risque de fuite des gaz SO2 et SO3, qui pourrait avoir un impact sur la population avoisinante. Toutefois, on peut immédiatement interrompre une fuite en fermant la soufflante et en arrêtant les opérations de la fonderie. À noter qu'aucune fuite de ce genre et aucune situation d'urgence ne s'est produite dans le passé. De plus, une panoplie de mesures de contrôles sont mises en place pour éviter une telle situation :

  • Programme d'inspections et d'entretien
  • Réseau de détection des fuites composé de 14 appareils
  • Système automatique d'arrêt de l'usine
  • Sirène d'avertissement
  • Consignes AGIR
  • Formation des employés de l'usine d'acide sulfurique
  • Mesures d'urgence

En 2000, une initiative concertée a été mise en place par la Fonderie Horne, la Ville de Rouyn-Noranda, l'Agence de santé publique et la Direction de Sécurité civile. Une modélisation de l'impact avait alors été réalisée, ce qui avait mené à l'élaboration d'un plan de gestion avec les différents intervenants, incluant notamment les consignes AGIR. Un système d'avertissement (sirène) avait également été mis en place, en plus d'une stratégie de communication publique.

Qu’est-ce que la campagne AGIR?

Depuis la réalisation de la première analyse de risque en 2000, la population du quartier Notre-Dame a eu le temps de changer. De plus, la technologie de modélisation et les normes applicables ont évoluées au fil du temps.

La modélisation ayant permis de revoir le périmètre de sécurité et la dernière campagne d'information sur les risques liés aux fuites de SO2 et SO3 ayant été réalisée il y a plusieurs années, la décision a été prise de mettre en place la campagne : S'informer pour mieux AGIR. De cette façon, la fonderie s'assure que l'ensemble des citoyens résidants dans le périmètre de sécurité soient au courant des consignes à appliquer advenant un incident.

La sirène d'avertissement

En cas de fuite de SO2 ou de SO3, une sirène d'avertissement sera déclenchée. Cette dernière s'apparente à la sirène d'un bateau de marchandise.     

Il est important de noter que des tests de la sirène sont réalisés tous les premiers mercredis des mois de mars, juin septembre et décembre. Pour éviter toute confusion, ces tests sont préalablement annoncés via différents canaux :

  • Des stations de radio locales
  • La page Facebook de la Fonderie Horne 

Les consignes AGIR

Si vous entendez la sirène de l'usine d'acide sulfurique et que vous vous trouvez dans le périmètre de sécurité, vous devez AGIR :

Communaute - AGIR - consignes de securite.png
Communaute - AGIR - perimetre de securite.png

​SAM, le Système automatisé de messages pour votre sécurité et celle de votre famille

La Ville de Rouyn-Noranda a mis en place un système automatisé de messages (SAM) pour joindre les citoyens lors d'une situation d'urgence, comme une fuite de SO2 ou de SO3, par exemple.

Lorsque les événements le requièrent, un message téléphonique enregistré est acheminé aux citoyens figurant sur la liste d'appels de la municipalité. En cas d'absence, le système laisse un message sur votre boîte vocale.

S'inscrire ou valider vos informations 

Vos coordonnées apparaissent automatiquement sur la liste d'appels automatisés si votre numéro de téléphone résidentiel, commercial ou industriel (ligne filaire) figure dans les pages blanches d'un annuaire téléphonique. Il est cependant recommandé de valider vos coordonnées, en vous rendant sur le site web de la Ville de Rouyn-Noranda.

Si vous possédez uniquement un téléphone cellulaire ou que votre numéro de téléphone ne figure pas dans les annuaires téléphoniques, vous devez vous inscrire au système automatisé de messages. Il s'agit alors de créer un compte avec votre numéro de téléphone cellulaire, d'ajouter les informations personnelles requises à votre dossier et de faire les mises à jour au besoin.

L'inscription est gratuite et peut se faire sur le site web de la Ville ou encore directement à l'Hôtel de Ville. www.rouyn-noranda.ca/sam

Foire aux questions

1. Pourquoi est-ce que je n’ai jamais entendu parler des risques reliés à une fuite de SO2 et SO3 auparavant ?

Une sirène est en place depuis 2000, afin d’informer les gens en cas d’une fuite, même si ce scénario est peu probable. Un test de la sirène est réalisé tous les 3 mois et, à cette occasion, des publicités radio sont diffusées pour informer la population du test et rappeler les consignes AGIR. Un message est également diffusé via la page Facebook de la Fonderie Horne.

2. Quels sont les contrôles mis en place par la Fonderie Horne pour éviter une fuite ?

L’usine d’acide sulfurique est inspectée et entretenue quotidiennement. De plus, il faut savoir que l’usine d’acide sulfurique est munie d’un réseau de détection des fuites, mis à niveau périodiquement. En cas de détection de concentrations excédant un certain niveau, les opérations sont automatiquement interrompues.

La Fonderie Horne possède par ailleurs un plan de mesures d'urgence, mis à jour annuellement. Ce dernier est partagé avec les divers partenaires, tels que le Service des incendies et la Sûreté du Québec, par exemple.

Finalement, une sirène d’avertissement peut être déclenchée en cas de fuite. Cette dernière est audible sur tout le périmètre de sécurité et même au-delà. En cas de déclenchement, les consignes AGIR sont déployées et communiqués via divers canaux (radio, télévision, SAM).

3. Qui est concerné par le risque de fuite ?

Le risque lié au SO2 et au SO3 concerne tous les citoyens, institutions, commerces et organismes situés dans le périmètre de sécurité.

4. Quels peuvent être les symptômes ressentis si une fuite se produit ?

Les symptômes possibles varient, dépendamment de la concentration observée. Selon la Direction de la santé publique, voici les symptômes qui peuvent être observés, advenant des concentrations de :

0 - 3 ppm 3 - 15 ppm > 15 ppm
Perception d'odeur Irritation du nez et de la gorge Irritation des voies respiratoires : rhinite, laryngite, bronchite
Irritation légère du nez, des yeux et de la gorge Toux, éternuements Bronchoconstriction
  Conjonctivite Possibilité d'œdème pulmonaire
  Difficulté à respirer Conjonctivite avec larmoiement
    Maux de tête, nausées et vomissements

 

5. Est-ce que les services d’urgence sont prêts à intervenir en cas de fuite ?

Le plan municipal de sécurité civile de la Ville de Rouyn-Noranda est harmonisé avec le plan de mesures d’urgence de la Fonderie Horne. Ce plan comprend une procédure pour rassembler rapidement les équipes chargées de secourir la population et d’exécuter les mesures d’urgence en cas de besoin.

Le poste de la Ville de Rouyn-Noranda de la Sûreté du Québec, la Sécurité incendie et sécurité civile de la Ville de Rouyn-Noranda, les services ambulanciers ainsi que les employés municipaux concernés sont toujours prêts à faire face à une urgence, à assurer les services essentiels et à informer la population sur les gestes à poser.

6. Si la sirène retentit, que doivent faire les citoyens se trouvant dans le périmètre de sécurité ?

Dès qu’ils entendent la sirène d’avertissement, les citoyens doivent appliquer les consignes AGIR :

Abritez-vous immédiatement à l’intérieur de votre maison ou d’un édifice
Gardez les portes et les fenêtres bien fermées
Interrompez tout système de ventilation et de climatisation
Regardez la télévision ou écoutez la radio pour plus d’information

7. Et que doivent faire les citoyens se trouvant à l’extérieur du périmètre ?

En cas de fuite, les citoyens se trouvant à l’extérieur du périmètre de sécurité ne sont pas tenus d’appliquer les consignes AGIR.

Toutefois, cela ne signifie pas qu’aucun symptôme ne peut être ressenti. En effet, même à des concentrations plus basses, certaines personnes sensibles situées à l’extérieur du périmètre pourraient percevoir une odeur persistante de SO2 et souffrir d’une irritation du nez, des yeux et de la gorge. Ainsi, en cas de malaise, nous recommandons à quiconque de se confiner et d’appliquer les consignes AGIR.

8. Que se passe-t-il avec les élèves de l’école Notre-Dame-de-Protection si l’alarme est déclenchée pendant les heures de classe ?

Bien que située à la limite du périmètre, l’école est invitée à appliquer les consignes AGIR. Nous demandons aux parents de ne pas se déplacer pour venir chercher leurs enfants, puisque ces derniers seront confinés. Les parents seront informés par l’école dès la levée de l’avis de confinement.

9. Comment savoir si l’avis est levé ?

La levée de l’avis sera annoncée à la télévision et à la radio. Des publications seront aussi faites sur la page Facebook de la Fonderie Horne.

10. Il arrive qu’une odeur de soufre soit parfois perceptible dans le quartier, est-ce dû à une fuite ?

Non. Les odeurs perceptibles dans le quartier sont souvent liées à des conditions météorologiques défavorables, le plus souvent des vents en provenance du nord qui se dirigent vers la ville.

11. Quelle est la raison des odeurs de soufre perçues dans le quartier s’il n’y a pas de fuite ?

Il y a deux causes principalement.

  1. La plupart des odeurs de dioxyde de soufre, perceptibles dans le quartier, sont dues à des émissions dites « fugitives ». Au niveau du procédé de fonte, il peut arriver à certains moments en fonction des opérations des différents vaisseaux que certains gaz ne soient pas totalement captés par la ventilation principale et soient alors dirigés vers l’extérieur par les évents de toits. Ces émissions de soufre « fugitives » peuvent être senties ou perçues dans le quartier à proximité.
  2. Un autre phénomène météorologique peut provoquer ce qu’on appelle un rabattement de panache des cheminées. Dans ces cas-là, les gaz sortant des cheminées principales sont rabattus vers le sol au lieu de monter en altitude et alors il est possible de sentir le soufre également.