Page dacceuil - Fonderie Horne.png

Horne Smelter

In business since 1927, the Horne Smelter proudly wears its title as the only copper smelter in Canada and the largest producer of copper and precious metals in North America.

We use copper concentrates and recyclable materials containing copper and precious metals as feedstocks to produce 99.1% pure copper anodes. Our expertise has been forged over several decades and we are now proud to be the leader in the recycling of electronic equipment in North America and to contribute directly to the reduction of the environmental pressures exerted by these end-of-life products. Our ability to process complex materials is testament to our great resilience in the face of many changes in the global market.

Quarterly average in arsenic: January-September

Each quarter, the Horne Smelter publishes the results recorded at the legal station ALTSP1, which is the station located closest to the plant in the axis of the prevailing winds. To learn more about the most recent quarterly average, our progress with the AERIS project and our transitional projects for the reduction of atmospheric emissions, consult our article.

Brief submitted as part of the public consultation on the renewal of the ministerial authorization of the Horne Smelter

Detailed plan for the reduction of atmospheric emissions

Efforts continue to reach the provincial standard for arsenic. To learn more about the actions that will be taken to modernize our plant, consult the detailed plan.

100,000 tonnes. This is the amount of recycled material we process each year at the Horne Smelter and CCR Refinery. As a leader in copper and precious metals recycling in North America, we pride ourselves on being able to ensure that the commodities that advance everyday life benefit from multiple life cycles.

Recycling

Our innovations

Since the very beginning of the Horne Smelter, the spirit of innovation has always been present among our employees, making it possible for us to respond to the various challenges we've faced during our almost 100 years of existence.

Page dacceuil - Fonderie Horne.png

Fonderie Horne

En activité depuis 1927, la Fonderie Horne revêt fièrement son titre d'unique fonderie de cuivre au Canada et de plus grand producteur de cuivre et de métaux précieux en Amérique du Nord.

Nous utilisons les concentrés de cuivre et les matières recyclables renfermant du cuivre et des métaux précieux comme sources d'alimentation pour produire des anodes de cuivre pures à 99,1 %. Notre expertise s’est forgée au fil de plusieurs décennies et nous sommes maintenant fiers d’être leader dans le recyclage de matériel électronique en Amérique et de contribuer directement à la réduction des pressions environnementales qu’exercent ces produits en fin de vie. Notre capacité à traiter des matériaux complexes témoigne de notre grande résilience face aux nombreux changements sur le marché mondial.

Moyenne trimestrielle en arsenic (janvier-septembre)

Chaque trimestre, la Fonderie Horne publie les résultats enregistrés à la station légale ALTSP1, soit la station située la plus près de l’usine, dans l’axe des vents dominants. Pour en savoir plus sur la moyenne trimestrielle la plus récente et avoir des informations sur l’avancement du projet AERIS et de nos projets transitoires pour la réduction des émissions atmosphériques, consultez notre article.

Mémoire déposé dans le cadre de la consultation publique sur le renouvellement de l’autorisation ministérielle de la Fonderie Horne

Plan d’action détaillé pour la réduction des émissions atmosphériques

Les efforts se poursuivent pour l’atteinte de la norme provinciale en arsenic. Pour en apprendre plus sur les actions qui seront entreprises pour moderniser notre usine, consultez le plan détaillé pour le meilleur gain environnemental.

100 000 tonnes. C’est la quantité de matériaux recyclés que nous traitons chaque année à la Fonderie Horne et à l’affinerie CCR. En tant que leader dans le recyclage du cuivre et des métaux précieux en Amérique du Nord, nous sommes fiers de pouvoir faire en sorte que les produits de base qui font progresser la vie quotidienne bénéficient de cycles de vie multiples.

Le recyclage

Nos innovations

Depuis les tout débuts de la Fonderie Horne, l’esprit d’innovation a toujours été présent chez les employés, permettant de répondre aux différents enjeux auxquels l’entreprise a eu à faire face au cours de ses presque 100 ans d’existence.