img-history-of-the-deposit.jpg

About us

History
of the deposit

​On November 8, 1963, diamond drill hole K55-1 launched the greatest ore body discovery in Timmins at the time—the Kidd Creek ore body which is recognized as one of the world's largest massive sulphide deposits. This discovery brought economic revitalization back to the town and a renewed optimism in the future of the City.

Glencore and its predecessors have been mining the Kidd Creek copper/zinc deposits since 1966.

The mine transitioned from an open pit mine to an underground mine in 1972 and has undergone several expansions known as 1 Mine, 2 Mine, 3 Mine and Mine D with the deposit growing deeper in each expansion. In 2011, a $148 million (CAD) expansion known as Mine D phase 2 was completed to extend mining down to 9500 level. Following this the mine added 9600 level to the mine plans in 2015.

In 2016 Kidd Operations celebrated 50 years of production. In five decades of operations, we`ve mined over 150,000 million tonnes of ore and employed over 20,000 people, including multi-generational families.

In 2018 Kidd Operations initiated an exploration project to determine if mineralization extended further below the active mine.

In 2021 Kidd Operations extended mining to 9800 and 9900 levels and initiated a feasibility study to look at the potential to extend the mine deeper. Currently the end of life-of-mine for Kidd Operations is scheduled for 2023 pending the results of this study.

MollisonHolyk-300.jpg

img-history-of-the-deposit.jpg

About us

History
of the deposit

Le 8 novembre 1963, le trou de forage au diamant K55-1 a lancé la découverte du plus grand gisement de minerai à Timmins à l'époque, celui de Kidd Creek, reconnu comme l'un des plus importants dépôts sulfurés au monde. Cette découverte a permis de redynamiser l’économie de la ville et d’y ramener l'optimisme quant à son avenir. 

Glencore et ses prédécesseurs extraient du cuivre et du zinc de Kidd Creek depuis 1966. 

La mine a évolué d'une mine à ciel ouvert à une mine souterraine en 1972 et a subi plusieurs expansions connues sous le nom de Mine 1, Mine 2, Mine 3 et Mine D, le gisement s’agrandissant davantage en profondeur à chaque expansion. En 2011, une expansion de 148 millions CAD, connue sous le nom de mine D phase 2, a permis d’étendre l'exploitation minière jusqu'au niveau - 9500 pi Par la suite, la mine a ajouté le niveau -9600 aux plans d’exploitation de 2015. 

En 2016, les installations Kidd ont célébré 50 ans de production. En cinq décennies d’exploitation, nous avons extrait plus de 150 000 millions de tonnes de minerai et employé plus de 20 000 personnes, y compris plusieurs générations d’une même famille. 

En 2018, un projet d’exploration était lancé afin de déterminer si la minéralisation s’étendait plus loin sous la mine active. 

En 2021, l’exploitation minière s’est étendue aux niveaux - 9800 et - 9900; une étude de faisabilité a été lancée afin d’examiner la possibilité de poursuivre l’exploitation encore plus profondément. Actuellement, dans l’attente des résultats de cette étude, la fin prévue de la mine pour les installations Kidd est 2023. 

MollisonHolyk-300.jpg