SivumutProject-Header.jpg

RAGLAN MINE

Sivumut Project

Sivumut, an Inuktitut word meaning “moving forward”, is the name of our two-phase project for adding to Raglan Mine’s current activities. The new mines are expected to enable us to continue our mining operations – that began in 1997 – to 2040 and beyond.

The Sivumut Project is also an opportunity to strengthen our partnerships with Nunavimmiut (the people of Nunavik), in particular with the communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq. The project has been developed through a process of public consultations leading up to the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA) required by Québec’s Environment Quality Act (EQA) and Chapter 23 of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA).

The Sivumut Project represents Raglan Mine’s Phase II and Phase III. Phase II will see the expansion of the currently active Qakimajurk Mine and the opening of a new underground mine called Mining Project 14. The mines are expected to be in operation from 2020 to 2035.

Phase III of the Sivumut Project, with an expected annual production similar to that of Phase II, will include three new underground mines (Mining Project Donaldson, Boundary Area and West Boundary Area).

Key features of the Sivumut Project:

  • It’s scope resides within Raglan Mine’s current property limits.
  • It has a small above-ground footprint because its mines will be underground.
  • It will leverage existing infrastructure (concentrator, housing, port facilities at Deception Bay, airport, roads, etc.).
  • It will treat wastewater using Raglan Mine’s existing, proven system.
  • It uses existing facilities for water effluent.
  • It does not affect any other natural watercourses.

 

This project will enable us to continue to contribute to Nunavik’s economic development through job creation, contracts awarded to Inuit businesses, and profit-sharing.

Learn more about the Sivumut Project

SivumutProject-Header.jpg

MINE RAGLAN

Projet Sivumut

Le projet Sivumut (« aller de l’avant » en inuktitut) comprend deux phases additionnelles aux activités actuelles de Mine Raglan, lesquelles devraient nous permettre de poursuivre l’exploitation minière – laquelle débuta en 1997 – jusqu’en 2040 et au-delà.

Sivumut est une occasion de renforcer nos partenariats avec les Nunavimmiut, en particulier avec les communautés de Salluit et de Kangiqsujuaq. Il est le résultat d’un processus de participation publique mis en place dans le cadre de l’étude d’impact sur l’environnement et le milieu social (EIES), en vertu de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (LQE) du Québec et du chapitre 23 de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ).

Le projet Sivumut est composé de deux phases : la phase II et la phase III de Mine Raglan. La phase II se résume en l’agrandissement d’une mine actuelle, la mine Qakimajurk, et l’ouverture d’une nouvelle mine souterraine, soit le projet minier 14. L’exploitation devrait s’échelonner de 2020 à 2035.

La phase III du projet Sivumut, dont la production annuelle devrait avoisiner celle de la phase II, inclura trois nouvelles mines souterraines (projet minier Donaldson, secteur Boundary et secteur West Boundary).

Caractéristiques principales du projet Sivumut :

  • Demeure sur la propriété actuelle de Mine Raglan;
  • Occupe une petite superficie à la surface puisqu’il s’agit de mines souterraines;
  • Utilise les infrastructures déjà en place (le concentrateur, le complexe d’hébergement, les installations de Baie Déception, l’aéroport, les routes, etc.)
  • Poursuit le traitement des eaux usées avec le même système éprouvé;
  • Maintient le même emplacement pour les effluents d’eaux;
  • N’affecte pas les autres cours d’eau naturels.

 

Ce projet nous permet de continuer à contribuer au développement économique du Nunavik grâce aux perspectives d’emploi, aux contrats accordés aux entreprises inuites et au partage des profits.

Pour plus d'informations sur le projet Sivumut