What we do.png

SUDBURY INO

What we do

Our operations include exploration, two underground mines (Fraser and Nickel Rim South), Strathcona Mill and the Sudbury Smelter, which are all located in the Sudbury basin. 

The Strathcona Mill receives ore from the two mines as well as third-party custom feed ores. The Sudbury Smelter processes the nickel-copper concentrate as well as custom feed materials to produce a nickel matte, which is sent to port facilities in Quebec City, and from there to Glencore’s Nikkelverk refinery in Norway.

The future of Sudbury INO is deep mining and its ability to design for it. Since receiving full approval for further development of the Onaping Depth project in late 2017, the team has been working on its development and finding ways to power its future.

When completed, the deep mine project will provide a significant new source of high-grade nickel ore beyond year 2035 – a metal critical to electric vehicles, lithium-ion batteries, solar panels and wind turbines.

Mining and milling

Read more about our Fraser Mine and Nickel Rim South Mine, as well as our projects, which would extend our presence in the community.

Smelting and recycling

The Sudbury Smelter smelts nickel concentrate and processes custom-feed materials while playing an increasing role supporting a circular supply chain by recycling products that might otherwise be sent to landfill.

Port facilities

We receive, store and ship materials through our port facilities based at the Port of Québec.

The Journey of Nickel

Nickel is a part of our everyday lives, and a metal that we will increasingly need for a sustainable future. Yet many people do not even notice its presence because it is a ‘hidden’ metal. Let us explore the extraordinary journey of nickel.

What we do.png

SUDBURY INO

Ce que nous faisons

Nos opérations incluent deux mines souterraines (Fraser et Nickel Rim South), le concentrateur Strathcona et la Fonderie de Sudbury; toutes ces installations sont situées dans le bassin de Sudbury.

Le concentrateur Strathcona reçoit le minerai provenant des deux mines ainsi que d'autres charges d’alimentation à façon provenant de tierces parties. La Fonderie de Sudbury traite le concentré nickel-cuivre ainsi que les charges d’alimentation à façon pour aboutir à une production de matte de nickel, qui est ensuite transférée aux installations portuaires de Québec puis exportée vers l’affinerie Nikkelverk de Glencore en Norvège.

L’avenir de Sudbury INO repose sur l’extraction minière en profondeur et sur sa capacité à la concevoir. Depuis qu’elle a reçu toutes les approbations requises pour poursuivre le projet Onaping Depth à la fin de 2017, l’équipe travaille sur l’aménagement de la mine et les solutions qui propulseront son avenir.

Lorsque le projet sera terminé, la mine profonde fournira une nouvelle source importante de minerai à haute teneur en nickel pendant de nombreuses années, au-delà de 2035. Le nickel constitue un métal essentiel pour les véhicules électriques, les batteries au lithium ionique, les panneaux solaires et les éoliennes.

Extraction et traitement

En savoir plus sur notre Mine Fraser et notre Mine Nickel Rim South, ainsi que sur nos projets, qui étendraient notre présence dans la communauté.

Fusion et recyclage

La fonderie de Sudbury fond du concentré de nickel et traite autre produits et minerai qui ajoute à l’alimentation qui provient de partie tierce tout en jouant un rôle croissant en soutenant une chaîne d’approvisionnement circulaire.

Installations portuaires

Nous recevons, entreposons et expédions du matériel par l’entremise de nos installations portuaires situées au Port de Québec.

Le voyage du nickel

Le nickel fait partie de notre vie quotidienne et est un métal dont nous aurons de plus en plus besoin pour un avenir durable. Pourtant, beaucoup de gens ne remarquent même pas sa présence parce qu’il s’agit d’un métal « caché ». Explorons l’extraordinaire voyage du nickel.