Port facilities.png

WHAT WE DO

Port facilities

We receive, store and ship materials through our port facilities based at the Port of Québec.

The Port of Québec serves North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland and is a cornerstone for the transshipment of solid and liquid bulk cargo along the St. Lawrence making it part of the supply chains of the steel, mining, agri-food, and energy sectors.

Our facilities at the Port are divided into two sections, one for nickel concentrate from Raglan Mine and one for nickel matte from Sudbury INO:

  • Nickel concentrate is created during primary processing. We ship nickel concentrate from Raglan Mine via the Port of Deception Bay to the Port of Québec, where it is loaded onto railcars for shipment to the smelter in Sudbury. About eight trips are made each year, carrying a total of about 240,000 tonnes. 
  • Nickel matte is produced from the smelting of ore concentrates, which lowers the iron content and removes impurities. The nickel matte is shipped from our Sudbury Smelter to the Port of Québec by rail and loaded onto ships bound for Kristiansand, Norway. The Sudbury Smelter and a Norwegian refinery, Nikkelverk, have had a connection since the 1920s, and we have been shipping nickel matte there since 1960. About 22 ships travel each year from the Port of Québec to our facility in Norway, carrying a total of 140,000 tonnes.
The MV Arvik, which means “bowhead whale” in Inuktitut, was built in 2021 and designed to meet the highest technological standards and international environmental requirements, and to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in our supply chain. The MV Arvik is capable of making eight shipments transporting a maximum of 240,000 tonnes of concentrate per year.

Glencore’s facilities are located on land leased from the Port. The facilities include railway tracks, a storage dome, a screw-type ship-unloading device, enclosed conveyor systems and several bag filter dust collectors. All the equipment for loading and unloading ships and rail cars belongs to Glencore, while operations and maintenance are contracted out to St. Lawrence Stevedoring. All loading and unloading operations are covered.

Employee at Port of Quebec.png

Environmental leadership

Demonstrating efforts to reduce its environmental footprint, the Port operations have been ISO 14001-certified since 2015. ISO 14001 is an internationally accepted standard that outlines how to put an effective environmental management system in place. It is designed to help organizations improve their environmental performance without overlooking environmental responsibilities.

Our Port of Québec operations has been certified under the Green Marine Environmental Program since 2016, which is a voluntary environment certification program for the North American marine industry. It is a rigorous, transparent and inclusive initiative that addresses key environmental issues through its six performance indicators. The program encourages its participants to reduce their environmental footprint by taking concrete actions.

Our commitment to continuous improvement

2013

Expanded building used for loading/unloading rail cars • Installed doors in buildings used for loading/unloading rail cars • Installed boot lift connectors on rail cars used for shipping nickel matte • Improved site monitoring through remote access to cameras and continuous air quality monitoring

2014

Increased ventilation and added a filter bag dust collector in the building used for loading and unloading nickel matte rail cars • Tested and installed new radar enabled railcar load level indicators to help prevent over filling • Expanded dust collecting baghouse system and re-routed dust collection lines to maximize performance • Enclosed the nickel matte conveyor system

2015

Achieved ISO 14001 certification for Glencore’s operations at the Port of Québec • Designed and implemented dust-supressing fog system for ship unloading • Fully enclosed all portions of conveyor systems not already covered • Launched studies into further improvements to ship loading/unloading infrastructure

2016

Achieved certification to Green Marine Environmental Program, scoring highest level of excellence and leadership for bulk handling and storage • Completed improvements to fog system and ship loading design • Integrated dust monitoring equipment into Glencore systems

2017

Installed dust monitoring system dashboard to provide operators with real-time data • Designed portable vacuum system to improve site cleaning • Evaluated unloading and dust monitoring technologies for planned MV Arctic ship replacement

2018

Designed a new ship with cargo holds permitting cleaner unloading • Began engineering and execution of plans for a new ship unloader • Planned improvements to covering the ship’s loading boom and surrounding roadway to further eliminate dust • Ongoing analysis of new technologies to further improve dust monitoring and ship loading and unloading activities

2019

Installed a vegetated wall at the western limit of the Port of Québec, as part of a five-year project to green the port in collaboration with the Québec Port Authority • Began construction of the new ship

2020

Installed new concentrate unloading equipment • Modified nickel matte loading procedures to prevent fugitive dust emissions • Installed real-time dust samplers and cameras to improve the warning system

2021

Completed maiden voyage of MV ARVIK I from Québec City to Deception Bay in May 2021 • Evaluated technologies for new nickel matte loading equipment • Replaced baghouse dust collector No. 10 • Carried out research for the VISION project to use specialized equipment to empty holds while keeping them closed

Concentrate storage building
Railcar loading and unloading facilities

Concrete examples of improvements at the Port of Québec

  • Collaboration between White Birch, QSL, Québec Port Authority and Glencore Canada.
  • 100 metres installed on the west boundary of the Port of Québec property.
  • Covered with vegetation, the wall offers a form of dust and noise mitigation.
     
  • Mobile equipment on rails allowing an efficient unloading of the four holds while limiting slides of material from working faces in the hold, thus reducing dust emissions at source.
  • Greater manoeuvrability due to the rail system allowing the unloader to access more parts of the hold.
  • Can unload up to 750 tonnes per hour, significantly reducing unloading time (up to one day less).
  • Year of implementation: 2015.
  • Dedicated to Glencore operations (asphalted areas around Glencore facilities).
  • More efficient than a rotary broom for dust collection, it helps keep the outdoor work environment clean while meeting air and rainwater quality objectives.

CE QUE NOUS FAISONS

Installations portuaires

Nous recevons, entreposons et expédions du matériel par l’entremise de nos installations portuaires situées au Port de Québec.

Le Port de Québec dessert le cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord et constitue la pierre angulaire du transbordement de marchandises solides et liquides en vrac le long du Saint-Laurent, ce qui en fait partie des chaînes d’approvisionnement des secteurs de l’acier, des mines, de l’agroalimentaire et de l’énergie.

Nos installations au port sont divisées en deux sections, l’une pour le concentré de nickel de Mine Raglan et l’autre pour le nickel mat de Sudbury INO :

  • Le concentré de nickel est produit pendant la première étape de la transformation des métaux. Nous expédions ce concentré depuis le port de Baie Déception, situé près du site de Mine Raglan, jusqu’au Port de Québec d’où il est ensuite chargé dans des wagons à destination de la fonderie de Sudbury. Nous effectuons environ huit expéditions par année, pour un total d'environ 240 000 tonnes.
  • La matte de nickel est produite lors de la fusion des concentrés de minerai, qui abaisse la teneur en fer et retire les impuretés. La matte de nickel est expédiée par train depuis notre fonderie de Sudbury jusqu’au Port de Québec, où elle est chargée à bord de navires en direction de la Norvège. Les relations établies entre la fonderie de Sudbury et l’affinerie norvégienne Nikkelverk remontent aux années 1920, et nous y expédions de la matte de nickel depuis 1960. Chaque année, environ 22 navires transitent entre le Port de Québec et notre installation en Norvège, pour un total de 140 000 tonnes.

Le MV Arvik, qui signifie « baleine boréale » en inuktitut, a été construit en 2021 et conçu pour répondre aux normes technologiques les plus élevées et aux exigences environnementales internationales, et pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans notre chaîne d’approvisionnement. Le MV Arvik est capable d’effectuer huit expéditions transportant un maximum de 240 000 tonnes de concentré par an.

Les installations de Glencore sont situées sur des terrains loués au port. Elles comprennent des voies ferrées, un bâtiment d’entreposage, un dispositif de déchargement à vis pour navires, un réseau de convoyeurs recouverts et plusieurs dépoussiéreurs à manches filtrantes. L’équipement servant au chargement et au déchargement des navires et des wagons appartient à Glencore, alors que les opérations et l’entretien sont contractuellement effectués par St Lawrence Stevedoring. L’ensemble des opérations de chargement et de déchargement se font à couvert.

Leadership environnemental

Démontrant ses efforts pour réduire son empreinte environnementale, les opérations portuaires sont certifiées ISO 14001 depuis 2015. ISO 14001 est une norme internationalement acceptée qui décrit comment mettre en place un système de management environnemental efficace. Il est conçu pour aider les organisations à améliorer leur performance environnementale sans négliger leurs responsabilités environnementales.

Nos activités du Port de Québec sont également certifiées dans le cadre du programme Alliance verte depuis 2016, un programme volontaire de certification environnementale pour l’industrie maritime nord-américaine. Il s’agit d’une initiative rigoureuse, transparente et inclusive qui aborde des enjeux environnementaux clés au moyen de ses six indicateurs de rendement. Le programme encourage ses participants à réduire leur empreinte environnementale en prenant des mesures concrètes.

Notre engagement envers l’amélioration continue

  • 2013

    Bâtiment agrandi utilisé pour le chargement/déchargement des wagons • Portes installées dans les bâtiments utilisés pour le chargement/déchargement des wagons • Installation de connecteurs de levage de coffre sur les wagons utilisés pour l’expédition de nickel mat • Amélioration de la surveillance du site grâce à l’accès à distance aux caméras et à la surveillance continue de la qualité de l’air

  • 2014

    Augmentation de la ventilation et ajout d’un dépoussiéreur à sac filtrant dans le bâtiment utilisé pour le chargement et le déchargement des wagons en nickel mat • Testé et installé de nouveaux indicateurs de niveau de charge des wagons à commande radar pour aider à prévenir le surremplissage • Système de bac à sacs de collecte de poussière élargi et conduites de collecte de poussière réacheminées pour maximiser les performances • Fermeture du système de convoyeur de nickel mat

  • 2015

    Obtention de la certification ISO 14001 pour les opérations de Glencore au Port de Québec • Conception et mise en œuvre d’un système de brouillard anti-poussière pour le déchargement des navires • Entièrement fermé toutes les parties des systèmes de convoyage non déjà couverts • Lancement d’études sur d’autres améliorations de l’infrastructure de chargement/déchargement des navires

  • 2016

    Obtention de la certification au Green Marine Environmental Program, obtenant le plus haut niveau d’excellence et de leadership pour la manutention et l’entreposage en vrac • Améliorations apportées au système de brouillard et à la conception du chargement des navires • Équipement intégré de surveillance de la poussière dans les systèmes Glencore

  • 2017

    Tableau de bord du système de surveillance de la poussière installé pour fournir aux opérateurs des données en temps réel • Système d’aspiration portable conçu pour améliorer le nettoyage du site • Technologies de déchargement et de surveillance de la poussière évaluées pour le remplacement prévu du navire MV Arctic

  • 2018

    Conception d’un nouveau navire avec des cales permettant un déchargement plus propre • Début de l’ingénierie et de l’exécution des plans pour un nouveau déchargeur de navire • Améliorations prévues pour couvrir la flèche de chargement du navire et la chaussée environnante afin d’éliminer davantage la poussière • Analyse continue des nouvelles technologies pour améliorer davantage la surveillance de la poussière et les activités de chargement et de déchargement des navires

  • 2019

    Installation d’un mur végétalisé à la limite ouest du port de Québec, dans le cadre d’un projet quinquennal d’écologisation du port en collaboration avec l’Administration portuaire du Québec • Début de la construction du nouveau navire

  • 2020

    Installation d’un nouvel équipement de déchargement des concentrés • Modification des procédures de chargement des matelas de nickel pour prévenir les émissions de poussière fugitives • Installation d’échantillonneurs de poussière et de caméras en temps réel pour améliorer le système d’avertissement

Bâtiment de stockage concentré.

Installations de chargement et de déchargement des wagons.

Exemples concrets d’améliorations au Port de Québec

  • Collaboration entre White Birch, QSL, l’Administration portuaire du Québec et Glencore.
  • 100 mètres installés à la limite ouest de la propriété du Port de Québec.
  • Recouvert de végétation, le mur offre une forme d’atténuation de la poussière et du bruit.
  • Équipement mobile sur rails permettant un déchargement efficace des quatre cales tout en limitant les glissements de matériau des faces de travail du concentré dans la cale, réduisant ainsi les émissions de poussières à la source.
  • Grande maniabilité grâce au système de rail permettant au déchargeur d’accéder à plus de parties de la soute.
  • Capacité de déchargement jusqu’à 750 tonnes par heure, ce qui réduit considérablement le temps de déchargement (jusqu’à un jour de moins).
  • Année de l'installation : 2015.
  • Dédiées aux opérations de Glencore (zones asphaltées autour des installations de Glencore).
  • Plus efficace qu'un balai rotatif pour la collecte de la poussière, ce système permet de maintenir l'environnement de travail extérieur propre tout en respectant les objectifs de qualité de l'air et de l'eau de pluie.