Sudbury INO Recognized for Safety Excellence

posted: 02/05/2023

On May 1, 2023, our Nickel Rim South Mine, part of our Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (Sudbury INO), was awarded the 2022 John T. Ryan National Trophy for Metal Mines for the best safety performance in Canada from the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).

"The national award demonstrates the Nickel Rim South team’s dedication to a safety-first culture and is a remarkable milestone in safety performance. At a regional level, Glencore operations in Ontario have proudly taken home the award seven times in the last ten years. We are proud of this national and regional recognition for our Glencore Canadian operations. It is a testament to the commitment to safety within our Glencore teams."

Peter Xavier - Vice President, Sudbury INO

While this is the first time Nickel Rim South Mine has taken home this national award, the operation is no stranger to safety recognition having previously been awarded the John T. Ryan Regional Metal Trophy for the Province of Ontario in 2021, 2017, 2014 and 2013. Notably, our Fraser Mine, also part of Sudbury INO, accepted this regional award in 2016, while our Kidd Operations won it in 2019 and 2015.

Proudly, this national award has been in Glencore hands since 2019 when our Raglan Mine collected the award beginning for three years straight. In fact, in 2020, Raglan Mine shared the award with another Glencore operation, Matagami Mine, which officially closed in June 2022.

Winning the 2022 John T. Ryan National Trophy for Metal Mines is a testament to our employees and contractors who bring SafeWork to life in our facilities every day. SafeWork aims to provide everyone within our business with the knowledge and tools to perform every task safely; the key message is that every individual has the authority to stop unsafe work.

We congratulate everyone involved in bringing the 2022 John T. Ryan National Trophy for Metal Mines home and underscoring our Purpose – to responsibly source the commodities that advance everyday life.

You may also be interested in

Our approach to sustainability

We are responsible for our impacts on people, society and the environment.
Read more

Sudbury INO reconnue pour son excellence en matière de sécurité

publié: 02/05/2023

Le 1er mai 2023, notre mine Nickel Rim South, qui fait partie de nos activités intégrées de nickel à Sudbury (Sudbury INO), a reçu le trophée national John T. Ryan 2022 pour les mines de métaux pour la meilleure performance en matière de sécurité au Canada de l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole (ICM).

« Ce prix national démontre l’engagement de l’équipe de Nickel Rim South envers une culture axée sur la sécurité et constitue une étape remarquable dans le rendement en matière de sécurité. À l’échelle régionale, les activités de Glencore en Ontario ont fièrement remporté le prix sept fois au cours des dix dernières années. Nous sommes fiers de cette reconnaissance nationale et régionale pour nos activités canadiennes de Glencore. Cela témoigne de l’engagement envers la sécurité au sein de nos équipes de Glencore. »

Peter Xavier - Vice-président, Sudbury INO

Bien que ce soit la première fois que la mine Nickel Rim South remporte ce prix national, l’exploitation n’est pas étrangère à la reconnaissance de la sécurité, ayant déjà reçu le trophée régional John T. Ryan pour la province de l’Ontario en 2021, 2017, 2014 et 2013. Notamment, notre mine Fraser, qui fait également partie de Sudbury INO, a accepté ce prix régional en 2016, tandis que nos opérations Kidd l’ont remporté en 2019 et 2015.

Fièrement, ce prix national est entre les mains de Glencore depuis 2019, année où notre Mine Raglan a reçu le prix pendant trois années consécutives. En fait, en 2020, Mine Raglan a partagé le prix avec une autre exploitation de Glencore, Mine Matagami, qui a officiellement fermé ses portes en juin 2022.

Remporter le trophée national John T. Ryan 2022 pour les mines de métaux témoigne de nos employés et de nos entrepreneurs qui donnent vie à SafeWork dans nos installations chaque jour. SafeWork vise à fournir à tous les membres de notre entreprise les connaissances et les outils nécessaires pour effectuer chaque tâche en toute sécurité; Le message clé est que chaque individu a le pouvoir de mettre fin à un travail dangereux.

Nous félicitons toutes les personnes qui ont contribué à ramener le trophée national John T. Ryan 2022 pour les mines de métaux à la maison et à souligner notre objectif – s’approvisionner de manière responsable en produits qui font progresser la vie quotidienne.

Vous pourriez également être intéressés par

Notre approche de développement durable

Nous assumons la responsabilité des effets de nos activités sur les gens, la société et l’environnement.
Lire la suite