20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Header - mirrored.png

Back to Insights & stories

Employee Spotlight: Gloria - A Passion for Wildlife

Author: Sudbury INO | Date: 10/12/2020

By day, Gloria works as a senior chemist in the Analytical Chemistry group at the Sudbury Smelter, part of Glencore’s Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (INO). Gloria has been with the company for more than 20 years and is responsible for the analyses of water samples from rivers and streams adjacent to Sudbury INO’s properties as part of the company’s environmental compliance monitoring program. Gloria’s work supporting the natural environment extends beyond the workplace, though. 

By night, she is an authorized wildlife custodian at the organization she founded in 2015, Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre serving Sudbury, North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins and Thunder Bay. Following the unexpected shutdown of the only other wildlife centre for miles around in December 2019, today her organization is helping more wildlife than ever before. Gloria’s passion for wildlife has never been stronger as she expands her operation and breadth of expertise to help a variety of wild animals.

An orphaned baby groundhog being bottle-fed.

Looking back

For as long as she can remember, Gloria has loved wildlife and the learning process that comes along with her mission to give these animals a second chance at life in the wilderness. In 2005, Gloria acted on her strong interest and began engaging in wildlife rehabilitation. When she first started, she knew nothing about it. Over time, as Gloria attended numerous conferences and workshops hosted by different wildlife agencies around the world, she continued to learn and expand her knowledge in the field. Eventually, this transpired into her attainment of the title, Authorized Wildlife Custodian, in 2016, which took place shortly after the launch of Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre.

With passion and purpose

Combining her deep love for wildlife with a keen interest in the science behind rehabilitating wild animals, Gloria runs her non-profit centre with wholehearted vision and commitment. Continuously learning new rehabilitation techniques as they change and evolve, she is both fascinated and impressed by new medical technologies that reduce recovery times, increase effectiveness, improve pain management and diminish the stress put on animals. 

20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Turtle1.JPG
20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Turtle2.JPG
A snapping turtle raised at the centre from the moment its egg hatched.

Gloria sees a wide range of species and issues come into her centre. Sometimes, an animal has a serious injury caused by a trap for which the animal was an unfortunate bi-catch. Other times, baby birds are separated from their parents because their nest was damaged or disturbed. Other instances include a case of accidental trauma caused by a family dog, or a fox that needs treatment for mange. From flushing and bandaging the wound of a squirrel, to bottle feeding orphaned groundhog babies, to raising a snapping turtle from the moment its egg hatched, Gloria and her centre are doing remarkable work to save wild animals who otherwise would not survive. 

Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre Today

Originally, the rehabilitation centre focused solely on turtles. Together with her husband and business partner, in 2015 Gloria built the centre on their family farm, which was about 1,200 square feet back then. Now it is significantly larger because they’ve been installing additional enclosures donated from the closed down wildlife centre nearby. This has also made them expand their operation and the breadth of animals they accept into the centre, because now there is no other centre in the area to care for them.

Today, Gloria’s Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre, which recently received its charitable status, has the facility, equipment and space to care for all eight species of turtles in Ontario, small mammals (squirrels, chipmunks, raccoons, groundhogs, skunks, porcupines, weasels), birds, song birds, raptors (a sub-species of birds which include hawks, eagles and falcons) and water fowl (ducks, geese).

Baby birds separated from their nest, likely due to a damaged or disturbed nest.

Helping Hands from the Sudbury Community

Gloria says her organization would not be where it is today without the support of her surrounding communities. It is a constant challenge to balance time and effort spent towards the acquisition of funding, as well as the critical care of all those animals in her centre. 

While most individual donations come from the people who bring her animals from the wild, she has received a number of community donations, including cranes, construction trucks and labour for the delivery of large animal enclosures, a 30-foot park trailer to comfortably house volunteer interns on site, and even loads of fill for her animal cages. 

Recently, the centre held its first-ever online auction where money was raised in the form of bids on various pieces of donated art, sculptures and collectible items. One of the centre’s volunteers also ran a walk-a-thon to raise money. Another held a bottle drive to raise funds for an incubator that would be able to help neonates, baby birds and small animals in shock from their injuries that could re-stabilize with the help of an external heat source.

Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre

If you are interested to get involved or want to learn more about Gloria’s work, visit the Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre website.

Glencore congratulates Gloria and her team on the incredibly heartfelt and inspiring work they’re doing to help our wildlife in Ontario.

20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Header.png

Retourner à Informations et articles

Pleins feux sur Gloria - Une passion pour les animaux sauvages

Auteur: Sudbury INO | Date: 10/12/2020

Le jour, Gloria travaille comme chimiste principale dans le groupe Chimie analytique de la fonderie de Sudbury, qui fait partie des Installations intégrées de nickel de Sudbury (Sudbury INO) de Glencore. Gloria œuvre au sein de l’entreprise depuis plus de 20 ans; elle est responsable des analyses d’échantillons d’eau provenant des rivières et des ruisseaux adjacents aux propriétés de Sudbury INO dans le cadre du programme de surveillance de la conformité environnementale de l’entreprise. Le travail de Gloria en appui à l’environnement naturel dépasse cependant la sphère du travail.

Le soir, elle agit à titre de gardienne d’animaux sauvages autorisée à l’organisme qu’elle a fondé en 2015, le Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife qui dessert Sudbury, North Bay, Sault-Sainte-Marie, Timmins et Thunder Bay. Après la fermeture inattendue du seul autre centre de protection de la faune à des kilomètres à la ronde en décembre 2019, son organisme vient en aide aujourd’hui à plus d’animaux sauvages que jamais auparavant. La passion de Gloria pour la faune n’a jamais été aussi grande, alors qu’elle élargit ses activités et son champ d’expertise pour aider un large éventail d’animaux sauvages.

Un bébé marmotte orphelin nourri au biberon

Rétrospective

D’aussi longtemps qu’elle se rappelle, Gloria aime les animaux sauvages et le processus d’apprentissage qui va de pair avec sa mission visant à donner à ces animaux une seconde chance de vivre dans la nature. En 2005, Gloria a transposé en action son vif intérêt et s’est engagée dans la réadaptation des animaux sauvages. Lorsqu’elle a amorcé cette activité, elle ne connaissait rien à ce domaine. Au fil du temps, elle a assisté à de multiples conférences et ateliers organisés par différents organismes de protection de la faune dans le monde entier et a continué d’apprendre et d’approfondir ses connaissances. Ses efforts lui ont permis d’obtenir le titre de « Gardienne d’animaux sauvages autorisée » en 2016, peu après le lancement du Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife.

Avec passion et détermination

Combinant son amour profond pour la faune et un intérêt marqué pour la science s’appliquant à la réadaptation des animaux sauvages, Gloria dirige son centre à but non lucratif avec une vision sans faille et un engagement plein et entier. Apprenant continuellement de nouvelles techniques de réadaptation à mesure qu’elles changent et évoluent, elle est à la fois fascinée et impressionnée par les nouvelles technologies médicales qui réduisent le temps de récupération, augmentent l’efficacité, améliorent la gestion de la douleur et diminuent le stress des animaux.

20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Turtle1.JPG
20201208 Employee Spotlight - Gloria Morissette - Turtle2.JPG
Une tortue serpentine élevée au centre depuis sa naissance.

À son centre, Gloria accueille diverses espèces et gère toutes sortes de problèmes. Il arrive qu’un animal soit gravement blessé par un piège pour lequel il a malencontreusement servi de prise accessoire. Parfois, des oisillons sont séparés de leurs parents parce que leur nid a été endommagé ou dérangé. D’autres cas peuvent porter sur un traumatisme accidentel causé par un chien ou sur un renard qui a besoin d’un traitement contre la gale. Qu’il s’agisse de nettoyer et de panser la blessure d’un écureuil, de donner le biberon à des bébés marmottes orphelins ou d’élever une tortue serpentine depuis sa naissance, Gloria et son centre font un travail remarquable pour sauver des animaux sauvages qui, autrement, ne survivraient pas.

Le Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife aujourd’hui

Au début, les soins du centre de réadaptation portaient uniquement sur les tortues. En 2015, avec son mari et partenaire d’affaires, Gloria a construit le centre sur leur ferme familiale, lequel faisait à ce moment-là environ 112 mètres carrés (1 200 pieds carrés). Aujourd’hui, le centre est beaucoup plus grand puisqu’ils ont installé des enclos supplémentaires donnés par le centre de la faune fermé situé à proximité. Comme il n’y a maintenant plus aucun autre centre dans la région pour s’occuper des animaux sauvages, ils ont dû élargir leurs activités et la variété d’animaux qu’ils acceptent à leur centre. 

Aujourd’hui, le Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife de Gloria, qui a récemment reçu son statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, dispose des installations, de l’équipement et de l’espace nécessaires pour s’occuper des huit espèces de tortues de l’Ontario, des petits mammifères (écureuils, tamias rayés, ratons laveurs, marmottes, mouffettes, porcs-épics, belettes), des oiseaux, des oiseaux chanteurs, des rapaces (une sous-espèce d’oiseaux qui comprend les éperviers, les aigles et les faucons) et des oiseaux aquatiques (canards, oies).

Des oisillons séparés de leurs parents, probablement en raison d’un nid endommagé ou dérangé.

Un coup de main de la communauté de Sudbury

Gloria souligne que son organisme ne serait pas rendu où il est aujourd’hui sans le soutien des communautés environnantes. Équilibrer le temps et les efforts consacrés à l’obtention de financement et aux soins essentiels de tous les animaux de son centre constitue un défi constant.

Bien que la plupart des dons individuels proviennent des personnes qui lui apportent des animaux sauvages, Gloria a reçu des dons de la communauté, notamment des grues, des camions de construction et de la main-d’œuvre pour la livraison des grands enclos, une roulotte de neuf mètres (30 pieds) pour loger confortablement les stagiaires bénévoles sur le site et même des charges de litière pour ses cages d’animaux. 

Récemment, le centre a organisé sa toute première vente aux enchères en ligne qui lui a permis de recueillir des fonds sous forme d’offres portant sur des œuvres d’art, des sculptures et des objets de collection donnés. Un des bénévoles du centre a également organisé un marchethon pour amasser des fonds. Un autre a organisé une collecte de bouteilles afin de recueillir des fonds pour un incubateur qui permettrait d’aider les nouveau-nés, les oisillons et les petits animaux en état de choc à la suite de leurs blessures et de les stabiliser grâce à une source de chaleur externe.

Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife

Si vous souhaitez participer ou en savoir plus sur le travail de Gloria, visitez le site Web du Centre Turtle Pond Wildlife.

Glencore félicite Gloria et son équipe pour le travail très engagé et très inspirant qu’elles accomplissent pour aider notre faune en Ontario.