Prix Samwillie_1024x400-min_compressé_V4.jpg

Back to Insights

Samwillie Grey-Scott Receives the CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award!

Author: Mine Raglan | Date: 04/05/2021

On April 29, 2021, Samwillie Grey-Scott won the CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award.

The award, organized by the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM), aims to highlight the outstanding achievements and potential of young Canadian mining leaders working across the world. 

Samwillie made his debut at Raglan Mine’s Stope School, in 2010. Since he joined the mining site, Samwillie has shown great leadership and has become an important player in our organization. 

After a short time in Operations, where his performance and leadership far exceeded expectations, his desire to help Inuit employees increase their contribution to the company’s success led him to return to the Stope School—this time as an instructor.

Samwillie’s desire to participate in the development and full potential of his Inuit colleagues included his idea for the Pigunnaqugut project. This project was designed to accelerate the career progression of Inuit employees in the mines so they could access higher-level positions in the organization.

Based on these achievements, Samwillie was promoted to Tamatumani Coordinator. In this role, Samwillie is now responsible for all recruitment, integration, training and retention activities for Inuit employees. He displays his leadership daily, both in-house with our managers and with his Inuit colleagues. Externally, our stakeholder representatives have unanimously recognized his exemplary leadership. In fact, he has considerable influence with them.

Once again, Raglan Mine warmly congratulates Samwillie, a rigorous and inspirational employee who has contributed greatly to the inclusion and development of Inuits working within the company.

Prix Samwillie_1024x400-min_compressé_V4.jpg

Retourner à Nouvelles

Samwillie Grey-Scott reçoit le prix Jeunes leaders canadiens du secteur minier ICM-Bedford!

Auteur: Mine Raglan | Date: 04/05/2021

Le 29 avril 2021, Samwillie Grey-Scott a remporté le prix Jeunes leaders canadiens du secteur minier ICM-Bedford.

Le concours, mis sur pied par l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole, a comme objectif de souligner les réalisations exceptionnelles et le potentiel remarquable de jeunes leaders canadiens du secteur minier travaillant partout à travers le monde. 

Samwillie a fait ses tout débuts à Mine Raglan à la Mine École, en 2010. Dès son arrivée au site de minier, Samwillie a démontré un grand leadership et est devenu un joueur important au sein de notre organisation. 

Après un court passage au niveau des opérations où ses performances et son leadership dépassaient nettement les attentes, le désir qui l’animait d’augmenter la contribution des employés Inuit aux succès de l’entreprise l’a mené à retourner à la Mine École, mais à titre de formateur cette fois-ci.

En souhaitant participer au développement et au plein potentiel de ses confrères Inuit, Samwillie a notamment eu l’idée du projet Pigunnaqugut. Un projet qui avait pour but d’accélérer la progression professionnelle des employés Inuit des Mines afin qu’ils accèdent plus rapidement aux postes supérieurs de l’organisation.

Fort de ces succès, Samwillie a été promu au poste de coordonnateur – Tamatumani. À ce titre, Samwillie est aujourd’hui responsable de l’ensemble des activités de recrutement, d’intégration, de formation et de rétention des employés Inuit. Son leadership mis à contribution sur une base quotidienne tant à l’interne auprès de nos gestionnaires qu’auprès de ses confrères et consœurs Inuit. À l’externe, les représentants de nos parties prenantes reconnaissent unanimement son leadership exemplaire. Il y joue d’ailleurs un rôle d’influence considérable.

Encore une fois, Mine Raglan tient à féliciter chaleureusement Samwillie, un employé rigoureux et inspirant et qui a grandement contribué à l’inclusion et au développement des Inuit au sein de la compagnie.