ArvikI_SR_Photography1_PhotoCredit_1024 x 400-min_compressé.jpg

Back to Insights

Raglan Mine Gives New Icebreaker Arvik I an Enthusiastic Welcome

Author: Raglan | Date: 27/05/2021

In mid-May, Raglan Mine gave the new ship Arvik I a very warm welcome at the Port of Quebec. The vessel belongs to shipping company Fednav and will be used exclusively by Raglan Mine. It replaces the Arctic, which sailed for the last time on March 27, 2021. The Arctic had been in service for 43 years and completed more than 150 voyages for Raglan Mine from 1998 to 2021. It will be recycled in Turkey in accordance with European Union environmental regulations.

On May 24, 2021, the Arvik I, built by Japan Marine United Corporation (JMU), set off on her maiden voyage to Deception Bay. 

This vessel is a key component of our operations. Built for strength, reliability, and performance, it is well suited to supporting our activities and growth for many years to come.

The modern design also means a smaller carbon footprint. The Arvik I can take on a bigger volume of concentrate—an additional 2,500 metric tonnes per voyage—and will streamline loading and unloading operations at Deception Bay and Quebec City. 

In addition to transporting concentrate to southern Quebec and delivering essential equipment to the mine site, the vessel will continue to provide free equipment transportation service for the communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq, space permitting.

The word arvik means “bowhead whale” in Inuktitut. These mammals are an important part of Nunavimmiut culinary tradition, centred on mutual support and sharing. The Arvik I will have a key role in our future activities and, in line with Inuit culture, we will work closely with all stakeholders for the benefit of everyone!

For the Arvik I, this is just the start of a great adventure.


About Fednav

Fednav is a private Canadian shipping company and the country’s largest maritime transporter of dry bulk goods. It operates a modern fleet of about 120 cargo ships worldwide, 60 of which it owns. Fednav has 300 office employees across the globe, including 195 at its head office in Montreal, and has sales offices in Antwerp, Charlotte, Hamburg, Rio de Janeiro, Singapore, and Tokyo. 
Visit the Fednav website to learn more: fednav.com/en.

Photo: SR photography

ArvikI_SR_Photography1_PhotoCredit_1024 x 400-min_compressé.jpg

Retourner à Nouvelles

Mine Raglan accueille avec fébrilité le nouveau brise-glace Arvik I

Auteur: Raglan | Date: 27/05/2021

Mine Raglan a accueilli avec bonheur le nouveau navire Arvik I à la mi-mai au Port de Québec. Propriété de la compagnie maritime Fednav, celui-ci sera dédié à l’usage exclusif de Mine Raglan. Il remplacera l’Arctic qui a entrepris son dernier voyage le 27 mars 2021. Âgé de 43 ans, l’Arctic a fait plus de 150 voyages pour Mine Raglan de 1998 à 2021. Il sera recyclé en Turquie suivant des règlements environnementaux adoptés par l’Union européenne.

C’est le 24 mai 2021 que l’Arvik I, construit par les chantiers navals japonais de Japan Marine United Corporation (JMU), a entrepris son premier voyage vers Baie Déception. 

Ce navire représente une composante clé de nos opérations. Grâce à sa construction robuste, le nouveau brise-glace fournira un service fiable et efficace qui soutiendra nos activités et notre croissance pendant de nombreuses années.

Soulignons que sa conception moderne lui permettra aussi de réduire considérablement son empreinte écologique. En plus d’offrir une capacité plus grande pour le concentré, soit 2 500 tonnes métriques supplémentaires par voyage, il permettra d’optimiser les opérations de chargement et de déchargement à Baie Déception et à Québec. 

En plus de transporter le concentré vers le sud du Québec et d’acheminer vers le site minier l’équipement essentiel à nos activités, le navire permettra de continuer à offrir gratuitement un service de transport pour le matériel des communautés de Salluit et de Kangiqsujuaq lorsque l’espace le permet.

Le mot arvik signifie « baleine boréale » en inuktitut. La baleine boréale occupe une place importante dans les traditions alimentaires des Nunavimmiut, caractérisées par l’entraide et le partage. Le navire Arvik I jouera un rôle central dans nos activités futures et, comme le veut la culture inuite, nous travaillerons en collaboration avec l’ensemble de nos parties prenantes pour en faire un succès collectif!

Il s’agit du début d’un long voyage pour ce navire.


À propos de la compagnie Fednav

Fednav est une entreprise maritime canadienne privée et la plus grande compagnie canadienne de transport maritime international de vrac sec. Elle exploite une flotte moderne d’environ 120 vraquiers opérant dans le monde entier, dont 60 en propriété. Fednav compte 300 employés de bureau à travers le monde—dont 195 à son siège social à Montréal—avec des bureaux commerciaux à Anvers, Charlotte, Hambourg, Rio de Janeiro, Singapour, et Tokyo. 

Consultez le site Internet de la compagnie afin d’obtenir une gamme d’informations: fednav.com/fr.

Photo: SR photography