Virtual Information Session

 

The Brunswick Smelter is a primary lead/silver smelter located at 692 Main Street in Belledune, NB and is owned by Glencore. The facility was originally commissioned in 1966 by East Coast Smelting. The Brunswick Smelter was originally designed as a lead-zinc smelter to produce metallic lead and zinc from concentrates produced locally at the Brunswick Mine Site located 35 kilometers south of Bathurst. The facility also formerly included a fertilizer plant (which closed in 1995). The fertilizer plant initially produced a monoamonium phosphate product and later di-ammonium phosphate product, using by- products from the smelting process. 

In March 2013, the Brunswick Mine Site officially ceased operation, resulting in the elimination of the main feedstock for the Brunswick Smelter. The Facility remained operational until December 2019 by importing a variety of feedstocks, continuing to operate as a primary lead smelter with a reported production capacity of 120,000 tonnes per year. 

The Brunswick Smelter facility includes the Smelter Area, Material Handling West Area (MHW), and the Fertilizer Plant located north of Highway 134 in Belledune, NB (collectively referred to as the “Site” or “Facility”). 

The decommissioning project will include various components such as the removal and disposal of hazardous waste, decommissioning of the various equipment and facilities, demolition, soils and water remediation, continued monitoring and maintenance of the site. 

The main objective of the decommissioning project is to fully decommission and demolish the existing infrastructure and to restore the land to an open space condition with the majority of the Site held in perpetuity by Glencore as a vacant but fenced or partially fenced property with the potential for future industrial use.

Brunswick Smelter and the Decommissioning Team are committed to decommissioning the site in a responsible manner, meeting all regulatory requirements and remaining respectful of the surrounding communities and environment.  

Overall Site Plan

Overall Site Plan

     

Tentative Key Timeline.JPG

Séance d'information virtuelle

 

La Fonderie Brunswick est une fonderie de plomb et d’argent de première fusion située au 692, rue Main à Belledune, au Nouveau-Brunswick, appartenant à Glencore. L’installation a été mise en service en 1966 par East Coast Smelting. À l’origine, la Fonderie Brunswick était une fonderie de plomb et de zinc pour produire du plomb et du zinc métalliques à partir de concentrés produits localement sur le site de la mine Brunswick, située à 35 kilomètres au sud de Bathurst. L’installation comprenait aussi auparavant une usine d’engrais (qui a fermé ses portes en 1995). L’usine d’engrais produisait initialement un produit de phosphate monoammonique, et plus tard un produit de phosphate diammonique, en utilisant des sous-produits du processus de fusion.

En mars 2013, le site de la mine Brunswick a officiellement cessé ses activités, ce qui a entraîné l’élimination de la principale matière première de la Fonderie Brunswick. L’installation est restée opérationnelle jusqu’en décembre 2019 en important diverses matières premières, poursuivant ainsi ses activités de fonderie de plomb primaire avec une capacité de production estimée à 120 000 tonnes par année.

Les installations de la Fonderie Brunswick comprennent la zone de la Fonderie, la zone ouest de manutention (OM) et l’usine d’engrais située au nord de la route 134 à Belledune, au Nouveau-Brunswick (collectivement appelées « site » ou « installation »).

Le projet de démantèlement sera divisé en plusieurs volets, tels que l’élimination de matières dangereuses, le démantèlement des différents équipements et installations, la démolition, l’assainissement des sols et des eaux, la surveillance en continu et l’entretien du site.

L’objectif principal du projet de démantèlement est de complètement démanteler et démolir l’infrastructure existante et de rétablir le terrain en un espace ouvert. La majorité du site continuera d’appartenir à Glencore en tant que terrain vacant clôturé ou partiellement clôturé. Celui-ci aura le potentiel d’être utilisé à des fins industrielles.

La Fonderie Brunswick et l’équipe de démantèlement se sont engagés à procéder à un démantèlement responsable du site, à respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires et à rester respectueux des collectivités et de l’environnement qui l’entourent.  

Plan d'ensemble du site

Plan d'ensemble du site

     

Echeancier principaux provisoires.JPG