GC-100+Images-Stone-1024x400.jpg

Glencore is one of the world’s largest diversified natural resource companies. Founded in 1974, Glencore inherited a century-old legacy in 2013 through organic growth and Canadian acquisitions.

Glencore Canada’s two founding companies, Noranda Mines Limited and Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, were created in the 1920s. They merged in 2005 and were purchased in 2006 by Xstrata, which was in turn acquired by Glencore in 2013.

100 Years of Strategic Metals in Canada

The history of our copper business

Noranda was founded by Canadian businessman and prospector Edmund Horne. Horne discovered his first gold veins in 1921 during his fourth trip to Abitibi, Quebec, where he travelled by canoe and snowshoes. Horne transferred his titles to two American mining engineers, Humphrey Chadbourne and Sam Thomson, who established Noranda Mines in 1922. The discovery of a major copper deposit led to the construction of the Horne Smelter in 1927 and the growth of the towns of Rouyn and Noranda.

Black and white photo of Edmund Horne paddling a canoe.png
Black and white image of buildings under construction.png
Left: Businessman and prospector Edmund Horne, founder of Noranda Mines Ltd., a mining and metallurgical company based in Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec.

Right: Construction of commercial buildings at Noranda, summer 1927. Source: Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Rouyn-Noranda.

The Horne Mine’s large ore reserves and the price of copper convinced Noranda Mines President James Y. Murdoch to consider building a refinery. An 82.6-acre site on the edge of the St. Lawrence River in eastern Montreal was selected for its proximity to the port, national railways, and hydroelectric power companies. CCR (Canadian Copper Refinery) opened in 1931 after nine months of construction.

Black and white photo of CCR when construction began with frame of the refinery visible.png
Black and white photo of CCR once construction was finalized in 1931.png
The new $2 million refinery had a processing capacity of 75,000 tonnes of copper, but for much of the 1930s, the plant never reached capacity due to the Great Depression. Experts said that it wouldn’t last more than 10 years. Little did they know that CCR would still be in operation 90 years later. Before and after shots above show the construction of the refinery.

The Horne Smelter, still in operation today, is the only copper smelter in Canada and the first metal recycling facility of its kind in North America. Since 1986, the smelter has processed an annual volume of 50,000 tonnes of electronic waste from Canada and the United States to give copper and other metals a second life.

HorneSmelter Recycling1.jpg

CCR Refinery processes copper produced by the Horne Smelter, as well as refining other types of metals, including gold and silver, making it one of the largest urban mines in North America.

The VELOX Project, a pilot project to improve the Horne Smelter’s environmental performance and optimize operations, was launched in 2021. Based on its success, the project will be deployed on a large scale by 2027 under the name PHENIX.

The history of our nickel business

By the 19th century, the Sudbury area in Ontario was attracting prospectors looking for copper and other metals. Thomas Edison, the American businessman and inventor, had an office in Falconbridge Township from 1901 to 1903, exploring the area in hopes of finding a nickel deposit for the alkaline battery he had developed for his electric car engine.

Falconbridge Nickel Mines Ltd., 1940

Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited was born when Thayer Lindsley famous Canadian engineer and mining developer bought concessions containing rich nickel and copper deposits—the same ones that were once staked by Thomas Edison.

Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, named after the township of the same name, was incorporated in 1928. The Town of Falconbridge was then built to house the workers.

Logo of Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, which was created in 1928.

The company rapidly expanded. As the mine site grew bigger, a smelter was built in 1930 and a processing plant in 1932. A second hub, Strathcona, was created in 1968. These facilities, along with the Fraser Mine and the Nickel Rim South Mine, built in 1963 and 2010 respectively and still in operation, form the Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (INO), one of the largest nickel upgraders in the world.

The Nickel Department achieved another significant milestone in Quebec in 1995 with the signing of the Raglan Agreement, the first Canadian Impact and Benefit Agreement (IBA) between a mining company and Indigenous groups. This agreement paved the way for production to begin at the Raglan Mine in 1997. Today, the adventure continues for Raglan Mine, which has four underground mines operating in a remote and majestic landscape. This year marks a significant milestone in Raglan Mine’s operations as the mine will celebrate 25 years of operation on December 4, 2022.

Two Indigenous employees posing side by side for the camera.png
MV Arvik on the water.png
Left: The Raglan Impact and Benefit Agreement, signed in 1995 between Raglan Mine and five Inuit partners, Makivik Corporation, the two Inuit communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq and their respective land corporations, was reviewed and updated in 2021.

Right: Raglan Mine welcomed the arrival of its new icebreaker, the Arvik I, in 2021. The vessel’s modern design significantly reduces its environmental footprint and optimizes loading and unloading operations in Deception Bay and Quebec City.

In 2017, Glencore approved the necessary capital to carry out the Onaping Depth and Sivumut Projects at Sudbury INO and Raglan Mine, respectively. The Onaping Depth project, an ultra deep mine, will keep mining going in Sudbury until 2035. Similarly, the Sivumut Project will extend Raglan Mine’s operations beyond that of its existing mines by more than 20 years.

The history of our zinc and lead business

Our zinc and lead operations comprise three facilities that were also founded by Noranda Mines Limited in the 1960s.

CEZinc was established in 1963. In 1961, five mining companies founded Canadian Electrolytic Zinc Limited with the goal of building a zinc refinery capable of processing ore from their respective facilities. The five co-owners, Mattagami Lakes Mines Limited, Orchan Mines Limited, Geco Mines, Quemont Mining Corporation Limited and Normétal Mining Corporation Limited, entrusted the management of the refinery to the Noranda corporation.

CEZinc is now 75% owned by Noranda Income Fund and 25% owned by Glencore Canada, which provides ore to the refinery under a supply and processing agreement. CEZinc is Canada’s largest zinc refinery.

Black and white photo of the CEZinc site.png
Black and white group photo with Celine Dion surrounded by CEZinc management.png
Left: The Salaberry-de-Valleyfield site, 30 minutes west of Montreal, was selected because of its proximity to the railway, access to the St. Lawrence Seaway, and abundant hydroelectricity.

Right: A special visit on the 25th anniversary of CEZinc in 1988. Céline Dion, 22, on the eve of a phenomenal career.

Kidd Operations in Timmins, Ontario, has been going strong since 1966. On the initiative of a young Canadian geologist, Kenneth Darke, a breakthrough in the Canadian Shield in the early 1960s led to the discovery of Kidd Creek, one of the largest base metal reserves in the world, reviving mining activity in Timmins, where the economy had up until then been based on forestry and gold mining.

Aerial view of Kidd Operations.

More than 20,000 people have worked at the mine since it began operations. The huge quantity of ore at the site led the production teams to dig deeper and deeper. In 2010, a breakthrough was made 8,907 feet underground, becoming the deepest accessible point below sea level in the world.

This encouraged scientists to search for ancient waters enclosed in the rock. Guided by the characteristic smell of water, the scientists’ quest was rewarded, and the analysis of the sample revealed that the water was 1.6 billion years old—the oldest ever found on Earth.

Water sample in a vial from Kidd Operations.png
Princess Margaret walking alongside Kidd Mine employee in mining workwear.png
Left: A water sample from the mine (Photo courtesy of Canada Science and Technology Museum)

Right: A royal visit in 1981: Princess Margaret tours the Kidd Mine.

General Smelting of Canada was founded in Lachine, Quebec, in 1955. Originally a small company, General Smelting of Canada has become one of North America’s most well-established manufacturers of lead and tin products and alloys. Like other foundries (Darling, City Foundry, and Ives and Allen), General Smelting of Canada is a testament to the rich industrial past of southwest Montreal, which became the cradle of the metallurgical industry, especially after the construction of the Lachine Canal in 1840.

The history behind our consulting business

In 1952, the Falconbridge Metallurgical Laboratory was established and served as the precursor to our Expert Process Solutions (XPS), a licensed metallurgical consulting, technology and test work company that serves the global mining industry.

Closed and remediated sites

Glencore Canada looks after a significant legacy of closed sites. They are considered to be either inactive, or active if they are being remediated or the water is still being treated. The closure and remediation of mining or industrial sites is a complex process requiring a wide range of expertise. These sites—over 35 in North America—are mostly located in Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia. Brenda Mine, Brunswick Smelter and Matagami Mine are a few examples.

Mining led to the founding of the town of Matagami, which was only a small exploration camp on the doorstep of the Nord-du-Québec region in 1960. The town’s population grew to 5,000 in the 1970s at the height of James Bay’s mining and hydroelectric development.

Some of these sites have made history. Thousands of men and women have worked there, towns have been built and sometimes surprising discoveries have been made, such as the discovery in 1971 of the remains of a Columbian mammoth at the Bell Mine in British Columbia.

Because the sites have been in operation over such a long time, they led to the development of a highly skilled and mobile workforce, whose skills were, and still are, recognized around the world. Many of the sites have been in operation for nearly 50 years, so it was not uncommon to see three generations of workers from the same family.

Deeply rooted in Canadian history, we have a strong commitment to Canada and we look forward to being a part of many more historical milestones as time goes on.

GC-100+Images-Stone-1024x400.jpg

Glencore est une des plus importantes sociétés de ressources naturelles diversifiées au monde. Fondée en 1974, c’est au travers de sa croissance et de ses acquisitions canadiennes que Glencore a hérité en 2013 d’un leg centenaire.

Les deux entreprises fondatrices de Glencore Canada, Mines Noranda Ltd et Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, ont été fondées dans les années 1920. Fusionnées en 2005, elles seront achetées en 2006 par Xstrata, qui sera acquise à son tour par Glencore en 2013.

Vidéo – Glencore Canada : 100 ans d'histoire au Canada à l'ère des métaux stratégiques

L’histoire derrière la filière cuivre

Mines Noranda Ltd doit sa création à l’homme d’affaires et prospecteur canadien Edmund Horne . C’est lors de son 4e voyage en Abitibi au Québec, région qu’il parcoure en canot et en raquettes, que Horne découvre ses premières veines d’or en 1921. Horne cèdera ses titres à deux ingénieurs miniers américains, Humprey Chadbourne et Sam Thomson, qui créeront la Mines Noranda Ltd en 1922. Puis, la découverte d’un important gisement de cuivre mènera à la construction de la Fonderie Horne en 1927 et propulsera le développement des villes de Rouyn et de Noranda.

Black and white photo of Edmund Horne paddling a canoe.png
Black and white image of buildings under construction.png
Gauche : L’homme d’affaires et prospecteur Edmund Horne, fondateur de Mines Noranda Ltd, une entreprise minière et métallurgique établie à Rouyn-Noranda, au Québec.

Droite : Construction d’édifices commerciaux à Noranda, été 1927. Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Rouyn-Noranda.

Les importantes réserves en minerai de la Mine Horne de même que le prix du cuivre amèneront le président de Mines Noranda Ltd, James Y. Murdoch, à envisager la construction d’une affinerie. Un site de 82,6 acres en bordure de fleuve Saint-Laurent, dans l’est de Montréal, est retenu pour sa proximité au port, aux chemins de fer nationaux et aux compagnies d’énergie hydro-électrique. La compagnie CCR (Canadian Copper Refiners) ouvre ses portes en 1931 au terme de 9 mois de construction. 

Black and white photo of CCR when construction began with frame of the refinery visible.png
Black and white photo of CCR once construction was finalized in 1931.png
La nouvelle affinerie, construite au coût de 2 millions de dollars, a une capacité de traitement de 75 000 tonnes métriques de cuivre. Pendant une grande partie des années trente, l’usine n’atteignit jamais la capacité prévue en raison de la récession économique. Les experts lui accordaient alors une durée de vie de dix ans. Ils étaient loin de se douter que CCR serait encore en opération 90 ans plus tard!

La Fonderie Horne, toujours en activité aujourd’hui, est la seule fonderie de cuivre au Canada et la première installation de recyclage de métaux en son genre en Amérique du Nord. Depuis 1986, la fonderie traite annuellement 50 000 tonnes de déchets électroniques provenant du Canada et des États-Unis afin de donner une seconde vie au cuivre et autres métaux contenus.

CCR traite le cuivre produit par la Fonderie Horne en plus d’affiner d’autres types de métaux, dont l’or et l’argent, ce qui en fait l’une des plus grandes mines urbaines en Amérique du Nord!

L’année 2021 a marqué le lancement du projet Velox, un projet-pilote destiné à améliorer la performance environnementale de la fonderie et à optimiser les opérations. Fort de son succès, le projet sera déployé à grande échelle d’ici 2027 sous le nom de PHENIX.

L’histoire derrière notre filière nickel

Déjà au 19e siècle, la région de Sudbury, en Ontario, attirait les prospecteurs, à la recherche de cuivre et autres métaux. Thomas Edison, l’homme d’affaires et inventeur américain eut un bureau dans le comté de Falconbridge de 1901 à 1903, prospectant la région dans l’espoir de trouver un dépôt de nickel pour la pile alcaline qu'il avait développée en vue de construire un moteur de voiture électrique.

Falconbridge Nickel Mines Ltd., 1940

Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited est née de l’achat par Thayer Lindsley, célèbre ingénieur et promoteur minier canadien, de concessions renfermant de riches gisements de nickel-cuivre –les mêmes qui avaient jadis été jalonnées par Thomas Edison.

La compagnie Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, qui tire son nom du comté du même nom, est constituée en 1928. La construction de la ville de Falconbridge suivra afin d’y loger les travailleurs.

Le logo de Falconbridge Nickel Mines Limited, constituée en 1928.

L’entreprise prend rapidement de l’expansion. À l’agrandissement du site minier s’ajoute la construction d’une fonderie en 1930 de même que l’ajout d’un concentrateur et d’une installation de frittage en 1932. Un second concentrateur, Strathcona, sera construit en 1968. Ces installations, couplées à la mine Fraser et la mine Nickel Rim South, construites respectivement en 1963 et 2010 et toujours en opération, forment les Installations de Nickel Intégrées de Sudbury (Sudbury INO), l’un des plus importants pôles de valorisation du nickel au monde.

La division Nickel a franchi une autre étape importante au Québec, en 1995, avec la signature de l’Entente Raglan, la première Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages (ERA) signée au Canada entre une entreprise minière et des groupes autochtones. Cette entente a pavé la voie à la mise en production de Mine Raglan en 1997. Aujourd’hui, l’aventure se poursuit pour Mine Raglan qui compte 4 mines souterraines en exploitation dans un paysage aussi éloigné que majestueux. L’année 2022 marque un jalon important dans les opérations de Mine Raglan, puisque la minière franchira le cap de 25 ans d’activités le 4 décembre 2022.

Two Indigenous employees posing side by side for the camera.png
MV Arvik on the water.png
Gauche : L’Entente Raglan, signée en 1995 entre Mine Raglan et cinq partenaires inuits, soit la Société Makivik, les deux communautés inuites de Salluit et de Kangiqsujuaq et leur corporation foncière respective, a été mise à jour et réactualisée en 2021.

Droite : Mine Raglan a accueilli en 2021 l’arrivée de son nouveau brise-glace : l’Arvik I. La conception moderne du navire permet de réduire considérablement son empreinte écologique en plus d’optimiser les opérations de chargement et de déchargement à Baie Déception et à Québec.

En 2017, Glencore a approuvé les capitaux visant la mise en œuvre des projets Onaping Depth de Sudbury INO et Sivumut de Mine Raglan. Le projet Onaping Depth, une mine très profonde, prolongerait la durée de vie de l’exploitation minière à Sudbury jusqu’en 2035. De même, le projet Sivumut prolongerait de plus de 20 ans la durée d’exploitation de la Mine Raglan au terme du cycle de vie de ses mines existantes.

L’histoire derrière notre filière zinc et plomb

Notre filière zinc et plomb s’incarne au travers de quatre installations ayant elles aussi été fondées par Noranda Mines Ltd dans les années 1960.

La création de CEZinc remonte à 1963. C’est en 1961 que cinq entreprises minières fondent Canadian Electrolytic Zinc Limited avec pour objectif de construire une affinerie de zinc en mesure de traiter le minerai extrait de leur installations respectives. Les cinq copropriétaires, soit Mattagami Lakes Mines Limited, Orchan Mines Limited, Geco Mines, Quemont Mining Corporation Limited et Normetal Mining Corporation Limited confient la gestion de l’affinerie à la Société Noranda.

CEZinc est aujourd’hui détenu à 75 % par le Fonds public de revenu Noranda et à 25 % par Glencore Canada, qui approvisionne l’affinerie conformément à une convention d’approvisionnement et de traitement. CEZinc est la plus grande raffinerie de zinc au Canada.

Black and white photo of the CEZinc site.png
Black and white group photo with Celine Dion surrounded by CEZinc management.png
Gauche : Le site de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, à 30 minutes à l’ouest de Montréal, a été retenu pour sa proximité au chemin de fer, son accès maritime et l’abondance de l’hydro-électricité.

Droite : De la grande visite à l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de CEZinc en 1988 : Céline Dion, 22 ans, à l’aube d’une carrière phénoménale!

Les installations Kidd situées à Timmins, en Ontario, sont en opération depuis 1966. Sur l’initiative d’un jeune géologiste canadien, Kenneth Darke, la percée du Bouclier canadien au début des années 60 a permis la découverte de Kidd Creek, l’une des plus grandes réserves de métaux de base au monde, relançant l’activité minière à Timmins, une communauté qui avait jusque lors vécu de l’activité forestière et de l’extraction de l’or.

Depuis la mise en opération de la mine, plus de 20 000 personnes y ont travaillé. La quantité de minerai présente ont amené les équipes de production à creuser toujours plus profond. En 2010, une percée était effectuée à 8907 pieds sous terre, devenant ainsi le plus profond point accessible sous le niveau de la mer au monde.

Une telle profondeur a attiré des scientifiques à la recherche d’eaux anciennes qui auraient été enfermées dans la roche. Guidés par l’odeur caractéristique de celles-ci, la quête des scientifiques a été récompensée : l’analyse de l’échantillon prélevé a révélé que les eaux dataient de 1,6 milliard d’années! Il s’agit des plus vieilles eaux jamais trouvées sur terre.

Water sample in a vial from Kidd Operations.png
Princess Margaret walking alongside Kidd Mine employee in mining workwear.png
Gauche : Un échantillon d'eau de la mine (avec la permission du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada)

Droite : De la visite royale en 1981 : Princess Margaret visite la mine de Kidd.

La Fonderie générale du Canada a été fondée à Lachine, au Québec, en 1955. Petite entreprise située dans le sud-ouest de Montréal, la Fonderie constitue aujourd’hui l’un des fabricants de produits et d’alliages à base de plomb et d’étain les mieux implantés en Amérique du Nord. Comme d’autres fonderies jadis (Darling, City Foundry, Ives and Allen), la Fonderie générale du Canada témoigne du riche passé industriel du sud-ouest de Montréal, berceau de l’industrie métallurgique, dont la vocation a été confirmée en 1840 lors de l’aménagement du canal Lachine.

Le secteur d’expertise-conseil de Glencore

Le Laboratoire de métallurgie de Falconbridge, fondé en 1952, constitue le précurseur de notre Service de conseils et d’essais (XPS), une entreprise agréée qui offre des services de conseils, de technologies et d’essais en métallurgie à l’industrie minière mondiale.

La division des sites fermés et en réhabilitation

Avec une histoire de 100 ans, Glencore Canada veille sur un héritage important : les sites fermés, dits inactifs ou actifs, s’ils sont en cours de réhabilitation ou si les eaux y sont toujours traitées. La fermeture et la réhabilitation de sites miniers ou industriels est un processus complexe requérant des expertises variées. Ces sites –plus de 35 en Amérique du Nord– sont pour la plupart situés en Ontario, au Québec et en Colombie-Britannique. La Mine Brenda en Colombie-Britannique, la Fonderie Brunswick au Nouveau-Brunswick et Mine Matagami au Québec figurent parmi ceux-ci.

Certains de ces sites ont fait l’histoire. Des milliers d’hommes et de femmes y ont travaillé, des villes se sont construites, des découvertes parfois surprenantes y ont été faites, telle la découverte en 1971 des restes d’un mammouth colombien à la Mine Bell en Colombie-Britannique!

La grande longévité des sites exploités a permis le développement d’une main-d’œuvre hautement spécialisée et mobile, dont les compétences étaient, et sont encore, reconnues partout dans le monde. Plusieurs des sites ayant été exploitées pendant près de 50 ans, il n’était pas rare de voir se côtoyer trois générations de travailleurs issues de la même famille.

Profondément enracinée dans l’histoire canadienne, nous sommes conscients de la nature critique de nos produits et de notre engagement envers la production responsable de produits de base qui améliorent la vie quotidienne.