METALS & MINERALS

Zinc and Lead

Our zinc and lead assets in Canada consist of Bracemac-McLeod, CEZinc Refinery and General Smelting (all three based in Quebec) and Kidd Operations (based in Ontario).

In Matagami, Quebec, our Bracemac-McLeod Mine employs 270 people, processes ore in Matagami and sends copper concentrate to the Horne Smelter in Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec and zinc concentrate to the CEZinc Refinery in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Quebec.

2

mines

2

metal processing plants

2,244

direct employment

1

office

$183m

spent with Canadian suppliers in 2017

The CEZinc Refinery in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Quebec is the second largest zinc refinery in North America. CEZinc has been an important part of the community since 1963 and employs 574 people. Glencore manages the facility and has a 25% ownership in the plant through a stake in the Noranda Income Fund.

 

Founded in 1955, General Smelting is one of North America’s most established manufacturers of lead alloy anodes for electrowinning, chrome plating and pickling processes along with offering lead construction and maintenance services for electrostatic precipitators and acid plant equipment on a worldwide basis. The plant is based in Lachine, Quebec and employs around 50 people.

 

Our Kidd Operations in Timmins, Ontario produces zinc and copper concentrates from one of the world’s largest and richest known volcanogenic massive sulphide deposits. The mine, which employs about 900 people, celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2016.

 

Fast Facts

  • At nearly 10,000 feet, the Kidd Mine is the deepest base metal mine in the world.

  • Kidd Operations was the first mine in North America to use fully automated loaders which are controlled from surface.

  • The Bracemac-McLeod Mine is the 12th mine in the Matagami Camp and the camp has been in operation for more than 50 years.

Kidd Operations: 50 years of celebrating excellence in mining

Kidd Operations Legacy Project - preparing for a responsible exit

Meet our people

Our people work in a wide array of fields from skilled trade and mining roles to various engineering specialties and several other professional disciplines that offer challenging opportunities across our Canadian industrial sites.  

Watch interviews with a few members from our zinc and lead business.

Justine Arsenault Savard

Eric Archibald

Catherine Amyot

Guillaume Maltais

Francois Leboeuf

Jennifer Taylor

Zinc-HeaderImg.jpg

MÉTAUX ET MINÉRAUX

Zinc et plomb

Nos actifs de zinc et de plomb au Canada comprennent CEZinc, Fonderie générale du Canada, les Installations Kidd et Mine Matagami.

Située à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, au Québec, l’Affinerie CEZinc est la deuxième affinerie de zinc en importance en Amérique du Nord. CEZinc joue un rôle important dans sa collectivité depuis 1963 et emploie 574 personnes. Glencore gère l’installation et détient une participation de 25 % dans l’affinerie par l’intermédiaire de sa participation au Fonds de revenu Noranda.

2

mines

2

usines de traitement des métaux

2 244

emplois directs

1

bureau

183 M$

versés aux fournisseurs canadiens en 2017

Fondée en 1955, la Fonderie générale est l’une des entreprises les mieux implantées en Amérique du Nord. Elle fabrique des anodes en alliage de plomb destinées aux procédés électrolytiques ainsi qu’aux procédés de chromage et de décapage, en plus d’offrir à l’échelle mondiale des services de construction au plomb et de maintenance pour les précipitateurs électrostatiques et l’équipement utilisé dans les usines d’acide sulfurique. La fonderie est située à Lachine, au Québec, et emploie une cinquantaine de personnes.

Nos Installations Kidd, situées à Timmins en Ontario, produisent des concentrés de zinc et de cuivre à partir de minerai provenant de l’un des gîtes de sulfures massifs volcanogènes connus les plus grands et les plus riches au monde. La mine emploie près de 900 personnes et, en 2016, elle a célébré son 50e anniversaire.

Notre Mine Matagami, située à Matagami au Québec, emploie 270 personnes. La mine traite le minerai à Matagami et expédie le concentré de cuivre à la Fonderie Horne (Rouyn-Noranda, Québec) et le concentré de zinc à l’affinerie CEZinc (Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Québec).

Faits Saillants

  • À une profondeur près de 3 050 mètres, la mine Kidd est la mine de métaux communs la plus profonde au monde.
  • La mine Kidd a été la première mine en Amérique du Nord à utiliser des chargeuses entièrement automatisées qui sont commandées depuis la surface.
  • La mine Bracemac-McLeod est la 12e  mine du camp Matagami, lequel est en activité depuis plus de 50 ans.

Installations Kidd : 50 ans de célébration de l'excellence dans le secteur minier

Installations Kidd : préparer une fermeture responsable

Faites connaissance de nos gens

Nos employés travaillent dans un large éventail de domaines, allant des métiers qualifiés et relevant de l’exploitation minière aux diverses spécialités du génie et autres disciplines professionnelles, qui offrent des opportunités stimulantes dans l’ensemble de nos sites industriels canadiens.  

Regardez les entrevues menées avec quelques membres de notre équipe de zinc et plomb.

Justine Arsenault Savard

Eric Archibald

Catherine Amyot

Guillaume Maltais

Francois Leboeuf

Jennifer Taylor