Nickel-HeaderImg.jpg

METALS & MINERALS

Nickel

Our nickel assets in Canada consist of Raglan Mine and Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (Sudbury INO), based in the provinces of Quebec and Ontario, respectively.

Nickel and copper are the primary metals, but we also produce cobalt and precious metals such as gold, silver, platinum and palladium.

Nickel is mainly used to make stainless steel: it adds strength and corrosion resistance to the steel. With its ability to handle high temperatures, nickel features in specialty steels and superalloys found in jet engines, as an example.

Nickel compounds are used in batteries – increasingly so in the powerful batteries used in electric vehicles helping facilitate our transition to a low-carbon economy.

Glencore Canada’s nickel business in numbers (2020)

2

industrial sites: Raglan Mine & Sudbury INO

6

underground mines

1

smelter

4,350

employees and contractors

2

ongoing projects to extend the life of our mines

30+

years in the recycling business

While we’ve been mining nickel-copper ores in the Sudbury area of northern Ontario since 1929, and in the extreme north of Quebec when Raglan Mine went into production in 1997, capital approvals for the Onaping Depth Project and Sivumut Project were granted at each location in 2017, respectively.

These projects, representing more than one billion dollars of investment, change the outlook for the future of the nickel business in Canada. The Onaping Depth Project, an ultra-deep mine, has the potential to extend the life of Sudbury INO to 2035. Likewise, Raglan Mine’s Sivumut Project will extend mine life more than 20 years beyond its existing mines. These two projects represent an exciting future and an opportunity to fulfil our Purpose to responsibly source the commodities that advance everyday life.

We’re proud of our people for upholding our Purpose to responsibly source these commodities. That responsibility comes in many forms. Safety, as always, comes first.

Safety

While Raglan Mine and Sudbury INO are distinct, yet connected businesses, they are bound by more than nickel, such as the value of safety. Industry recognition validates how seriously they take this matter. Most recently, in May 2021, Raglan Mine took home the 2020 John T. Ryan National Trophy for the best safety performance in Canada in the Metal Mines category from the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM), an acknowledgment they jointly shared with another Glencore Canada mining operation, Matagami Mine (part of our zinc and lead business). These two sites effectively proved themselves as the safest mine operations of the year across the country.

Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of ‘Canada’s Safest Mine Operation’

Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of ‘Canada’s Safest Mine Operation’

Similarly, Sudbury INO maintains a strong record of safety performance. Its Nickel Rim South Mine was honoured with a similar regional award for the Province of Ontario in 2018, which came on the heels of its Fraser Mine winning the same award the year prior.

We firmly believe in open and transparent safety conversations to maintain our industry-leading performance and have asked our employees to keep the conversation going with the following Speaking SafeNickel series.

Given the exciting digital age we live in, we are not shy to explore the use of innovation and technology to push forward on the safety front. As an example, we are exploring the use of autonomous vehicle technology that ensures that miners can increasingly sit safely and comfortably above ground and work away from the physical risks presented by operating underground in the mine.

Pioneering autonomous vehicle technology

Beyond safety, an obvious manner in which we can uphold our Purpose to responsibly source the commodities that advance everyday life is through recycling. We recycle a wide variety of complex end-of-life electronics in order to extract sustainable metals, helping support a circular supply chain that gives a second life to products that might otherwise be sent to landfill.

Our Integrated Nickel Operations Celebrates 30th Year in the Recycling Business

Our Integrated Nickel Operations Celebrates 30th Year in the Recycling Business

We invite you to read more about Raglan Mine and Sudbury INO by visiting their respective websites where they share more detailed information about what they do and who they are.

Raglan Mine

Raglan Mine

Sudbury INO

Sudbury INO

Nickel-HeaderImg.jpg

MÉTAUX ET MINÉRAUX

Nickel

Nos activités nickel au Canada comprennent la mine Raglan et Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (Sudbury INO), situées respectivement au Québec et en Ontario.

Le nickel et le cuivre sont les principales productions, mais nous produisons aussi du cobalt et des métaux précieux comme l'or, l'argent, le platine et le palladium.

La division Nickel de Glencore Canada en chiffres (2021)

2

sites industriels : Mine Raglan et Sudbury INO

6

mines souterraines

2

usines de traitement

1

fonderie

4 430

employés et sous-traitants

2

projets en cours pour prolonger la durée de vie de nos mines

Le nickel est principalement utilisé dans la fabrication de l'acier inoxydable.  Il ajoute de la résistance à l’acier et contre la corrosion. Grâce à sa capacité à résister aux températures élevées, le nickel est présent dans les aciers spéciaux et dans les superalliages que l'on trouve, par exemple, dans les moteurs à réaction.

Les composés de nickel sont utilisés dans les batteries, et de plus en plus dans les batteries puissantes équipant les véhicules électriques, ce qui facilite la transition vers une économie à faible émission de carbone.

Le nickel fait partie de notre vie quotidienne et c’est un métal dont nous aurons de plus en plus besoin pour un avenir durable. Il est partout autour de nous, des ustensiles que nous utilisons dans nos cuisines, aux ponts qui relient nos villes, en passant par les batteries des véhicules électriques qui contribueront à un avenir à faible émission de carbone. Pourtant, peu remarquent sa présence; car le nickel est un métal « caché ». Suivons l’extraordinaire voyage du nickel.

Le voyage de nickel

Si les opérations d’extraction de minerais de nickel et de cuivre se poursuivent depuis 1929 dans la région de Sudbury, au nord de l'Ontario, et depuis 1997 dans le grand nord québécois, lors de l’entrée en production de la mine Raglan, les approbations d'investissement pour la mine en profondeur Onaping et le projet Sivumut pour chacun des sites respectivement n’ont été accordées qu’en 2017.

Ces projets, qui représentent plus d'un milliard de dollars d'investissement, modifient les perspectives d'avenir des activités nickel au Canada. Le projet de la mine en grande profondeur Onaping, a le potentiel de prolonger la vie de Sudbury INO jusqu'en 2035. De même, le projet Sivumut à la mine Raglan prolongera la durée de vie de la mine de plus de 20 ans. Ces deux projets sont synonymes d’un futur palpitant et constituent une occasion de respecter notre objectif d’obtenir de manière responsable les matières premières qui améliorent la vie quotidienne.

Nous sommes fiers que notre personnel respecte notre objectif d'obtenir ces produits de façon responsable. Cette responsabilité peut prendre de nombreuses formes. La sécurité avant tout, toujours.

Sécurité

Si Mine Raglan et Sudbury l'INO sont des entreprises distinctes mais connectées, leur lien commun n’est pas le seul nickel, mais la valeur accordée à la sécurité. La reconnaissance par le secteur confirme le sérieux de leur prise en compte de cette question. Récemment Mine Matagami et  Mine Raglan ont remporté en mai 2021, le Trophée national John T. Ryan 2020 décerné par l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole (CIM) pour les meilleurs résultats en sécurité au Canada dans la catégorie Mines métallifères, preuve qu’elles sont les opérations minières les plus sécuritaires au pays. Ces deux sites se sont avérés effectivement les opérations minières les plus sûres de l'année dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Mine Matagami et Mine Raglan obtiennent le titre d’« Exploitation minière la plus sécuritaire au Canada »

Mine Matagami et Mine Raglan obtiennent le titre d’« Exploitation minière la plus sécuritaire au Canada »

De même, Sudbury INO maintient de solides résultats en matière de sécurité. Sa mine Nickel Rim South a reçu un prix semblable au niveau de la province de l'Ontario en 2018, suivant la récompense gagnée par sa mine Fraser l'année précédente.

Nous croyons fermement en des échanges ouverts et transparents sur la sécurité pour maintenir nos performances de premier plan dans le secteur, et avons demandé à notre personnel de poursuivre ces échanges dans le cadre des publications de SafeNickel : de la parole aux actes.

Étant donné l'ère numérique passionnante dans laquelle nous vivons, nous n’hésitons pas à recourir à l'innovation et à la technologie pour faire avancer la cause de la sécurité. Par exemple, nous explorons l'utilisation de véhicules autonomes qui permet aux mineurs de demeurer en toute sécurité et de manière confortable à la surface, en travaillant loin des risques inhérents au travail en souterrain dans les exploitations minières.

À l’avant-garde de la technologie des véhicules autonomes

Au-delà de la sécurité, le recyclage est une façon évidente de respecter notre objectif d’obtenir de manière responsable les produits qui améliorent la vie quotidienne. Grâce à notre engagement, nous contribuons à soutenir une chaîne d’approvisionnement circulaire qui donne une seconde vie à des produits qui se retrouveraient sinon dans des sites d’enfouissement.

Nos Installations de nickel intégrées soulignent leur 30e année dans le secteur du recyclage

Nos Installations de nickel intégrées soulignent leur 30e année dans le secteur du recyclage

Nous vous invitons à en savoir plus sur la mine Raglan et sur Sudbury INO en consultant leurs sites Web respectifs où vous trouverez des renseignements plus détaillés à leur sujet.

Mine Raglan

Mine Raglan

Sudbury INO

Sudbury INO