Enviroment-HeaderImg.jpg

SUSTAINABILITY

Environment

In Canada, just as we do across our global operations, we seek to minimize our impact on the environment.

While the commodities we source – copper, nickel, zinc and cobalt, to name a few – are critical materials in green technologies, such as solar panels, wind turbines, electric vehicles and lithium-ion batteries, we know we must uphold our Purpose to responsibly source these commodities that advance everyday life.

An obvious manner we can do that is through recycling. We recycle a wide variety of complex end-of-life electronics in order to extract sustainable metals, helping support a circular supply chain that gives a second life to products that might otherwise be sent to landfill.

Our Integrated Nickel Operations Celebrates 30th Year in the Recycling Business

Our Integrated Nickel Operations Celebrates 30th Year in the Recycling Business

Moreover, a responsible approach to sourcing these commodities includes the robust management systems we have developed for key environmental aspects, such as land and biodiversity, air emissions, energy, water and waste, right across our various industrial assets. As an example, CCR Refinery, which makes the area of Montreal East home, has invested more than C$30M to reduce their atmospheric emissions in recent years.

CCR Refinery

Environmental policy and atmospheric-emissions management

Raglan Mine, as an operator in the Canadian Arctic, recognizes the importance of acting responsibly within this unique environment. Moreover, as the first Canadian mining company to have signed an Impact and Benefit Agreement (IBA) with an Aboriginal group, Raglan Mine has a deep history of being responsive to the environmental concerns of the local Indigenous communities nearby its operations.

Following the announcement of the closure of an industrial asset, we uphold our environmental and community commitments by undertaking the closure process in accordance with all regulatory and corporate requirements and support the community during the transition, as is the case with the Brunswick Smelter in New Brunswick (closed in 2019). Similarly, given the history we have inherited in Canada through acquisitions, we oversee various closed sites across the country, including Brenda Mine in British Columbia (closed in 1990).

We invite you to visit the websites for these two closed sites to read more about their respective histories, ongoing activities and community outreach.

Brunswick Smelter

Brunswick Smelter

Brenda Mine

Brenda Mine

Our employees and contractors bring to life our environmental commitments and policies and, in many cases, live up to the same environmental ideals in their personal lives. For instance, by day, Gloria works as a senior chemist in the Analytical Chemistry group at the Sudbury Smelter, part of our Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (INO). By night, she is an authorized wildlife custodian at the organization she founded in 2015, Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre.

Employee Spotlight: Gloria - A Passion for Wildlife

Employee Spotlight: Gloria - A Passion for Wildlife

Our ambition is to minimize potential impacts of our activities on the environment through environmental stewardship and responsible resource management. We know people like Gloria will ensure we realize that ambition.

Enviroment-HeaderImg.jpg

Développement durable

Environnement

Au Canada, tout comme dans l’ensemble de nos exploitations de par le monde, nous nous efforçons de réduire notre impact sur l’environnement.

Bien que les matières premières que nous extrayons, qu’il s’agisse du cuivre, du nickel, du zinc ou du cobalt pour n’en citer que quelques-unes, constituent des matériaux essentiels dans les technologies vertes, comme les panneaux solaires, les éoliennes, les véhicules électriques et les batteries au lithium-ion, nous savons que nous devons respecter notre objectif d’obtenir ces matières premières qui améliorent la vie quotidienne d’une manière responsable.

Le recyclage est une façon évidente de le faire. Grâce à notre engagement, nous contribuons à soutenir une chaîne d’approvisionnement circulaire qui donne une seconde vie à des produits qui se retrouveraient sinon dans des sites d’enfouissement.

Nos Installations de nickel intégrées soulignent leur 30e année dans le secteur du recyclage

Nos Installations de nickel intégrées soulignent leur 30e année dans le secteur du recyclage

De plus, une approche responsable dans l’approvisionnement de ces produits intègre les systèmes de gestion robustes que nous avons élaborés pour les aspects environnementaux clés, tels que la terre et la biodiversité, les émissions atmosphériques, l’énergie, l’eau et les déchets, dans l’ensemble de nos actifs industriels. À titre d'exemple, l’affinerie CCR située à Montréal Est, a investi plus de 30 millions CAD dans la réduction de ses émissions atmosphériques au cours des dernières années.

Affinerie CCR

Politique environnementale et gestion des émissions atmosphériques

À Mine Raglan, à titre d’exploitant dans l’Arctique canadien, nous reconnaissons l’importance d’agir de façon responsable dans cet environnement unique. De plus, en tant que première entreprise minière canadienne à avoir signé une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages avec un groupe des Premières Nations, Mine Raglan a un long passé de prise en compte des préoccupations environnementales des collectivités autochtones vivant à proximité de ses activités.

Après l’annonce de la cessation des activités d’un actif industriel, nous respectons nos engagements environnementaux et communautaires en exécutant le processus de fermeture conformément à toutes les exigences réglementaires et de l’entreprise et en soutenant la collectivité pendant la transition, comme ce fut le cas pour la fonderie Brunswick au Nouveau-Brunswick, fermée en 2019. De même, compte tenu des engagements dont nous avons hérités au Canada par le biais de nos acquisitions, nous supervisons divers sites fermés dans tout le pays, y compris la mine Brenda en Colombie-Britannique, fermée en 1990.

Nous vous invitons à visiter les sites Web de ces deux sites fermés pour en savoir davantage sur leur histoire respective, les activités en cours et leur rayonnement auprès de leurs collectivités.

Fonderie Brunswick

Fonderie Brunswick

Mine Brenda

Mine Brenda

Nos employés et nos sous-traitants mettent en œuvre nos engagements et nos politiques en matière d'environnement et, souvent, appliquent ces mêmes principes dans leur vie personnelle. Par exemple, dans la journée, Gloria travaille comme chimiste principale au sein du groupe de chimie analytique de la fonderie de Sudbury, qui fait partie de Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations ou INO. La nuit, elle est gardienne agréée de la faune auprès de l’organisme qu’elle a fondé en 2015, Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre.

Pleins feux sur Gloria - Une passion pour les animaux sauvages

Pleins feux sur Gloria - Une passion pour les animaux sauvages

Notre ambition est de minimiser les impacts potentiels de nos activités sur l’environnement grâce à une bonne gérance de l’environnement et une gestion responsable des ressources. Nous savons que des gens comme Gloria vont nous permettre de réaliser cette ambition.