Community-HeaderImg.jpg

SUSTAINABILITY

Community

We bring substantial economic benefits to the communities in Canada where we operate by employing people, buying goods and services, collaborating with other businesses, and paying taxes and royalties. But we understand our contribution to society needs to go beyond hard economics. Supporting the communities where we operate is part of how we do business. This approach was on full display during the COVID-19 pandemic.

While the pandemic saw our business and employees rally to a common cause, each of our operating assets have long supported charitable initiatives in their local communities. For example, over the last few years, our CCR Refinery has funded several innovative health projects in the Montreal East area it calls home. One such project was the donation to the Fondation du CSSS de la Pointe-de-Île, which went toward the purchase of bilirubinometers (tools to monitor jaundice in newborns) to facilitate home care. 

In Northern Ontario, employees at our Kidd Operations and Sudbury INO also live up to our commitment to the community by raising funds for those in need. In 2019, the United Way Centraide North East Ontario (UWCNEO) jointly recognized these two sites for their fundraising efforts. Their commitment to the UWCNEO endures to this day.

CCR Supports Innovative Health Solutions for Children

CCR Supports Innovative Health Solutions for Children

Kidd Operations and Sudbury INO Unite to Earn 2018 Community Leader Award

Kidd Operations and Sudbury INO Unite to Earn 2018 Community Leader Award

We rely on our employees to bring our community commitment to life and are fortunate to have them do just that. In fact, we are able to boast that many of our employees are leaders within the various communities we touch. Amélie Rouleau, as an example, was recognized in WIM’s biennial “100 Global Inspirational Women in Mining”, for her work building and sustaining Raglan Mine’s social license to operate by engaging with Inuit communities nearby its operations.

Similarly, Gloria Morissette, a senior chemist responsible for analyzing water samples, extends her passion for the natural environment to the benefit of her local community by serving as an authorized wildlife custodian at the organization she leads and founded in 2015, Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre.

Indigenous participation

We continue to foster strong, progressive relationships with Indigenous communities near our operations.

Most notably, our Raglan Mine, constructed in a remote, off-grid location, and founded on the first Impact and Benefit Agreement (IBA) with an Indigenous group in Canada, continues to embody, and further evolve, the principles of the Raglan Agreement it signed with five Inuit partners in 1995.

We invite you to read about the Raglan Agreement, as well as the words of Aida Puxley, an Inuit employee at Raglan Mine, who assists with hiring and provides support to Inuit employees to help with their integration into the workplace.

Raglan Agreement

Raglan Agreement

Meet Aida Puxley, Inuit Recruitment Counsellor at Raglan Mine

Meet Aida Puxley, Inuit Recruitment Counsellor at Raglan Mine

Moreover, Raglan Mine, as an operator in the Canadian Arctic, recognizes the importance of acting responsibly within this unique environment and brings a deep history of being responsive to the environmental concerns of the local Indigenous communities nearby its operations.

We are fortunate to have a deep history and connection to the communities we have helped build across Canada and are eager to continue to help build them into the future.

Community-HeaderImg.jpg

Développement durable

Communautés

L’entreprise apporte des avantages économiques importants aux communautés dans lesquelles nous travaillons au Canada par les emplois assurés, l’achat de biens et services, la collaboration avec d’autres entreprises et le paiement de taxes et de redevances. Nous comprenons cependant que notre contribution à la société doit aller au-delà des simples données économiques. Notre façon de travailler prévoit de soutenir les collectivités dans lesquelles nous exerçons nos activités, et cette approche était bien visible pendant la pandémie de COVID-19.

Si la pandémie fut l’occasion pour nos entreprises et nos employés de se rallier à une cause commune, chacun de nos sites opérationnels soutient depuis longtemps des actions caritatives dans leurs communautés locales. Par exemple, au cours des dernières années, l’Affinerie CCR a financé plusieurs projets de santé novateurs dans l’est de Montréal où elle se trouve. L’un de ces projets est un don à la Fondation du CSSS de la Pointe-de-Île, consacré à l’achat de bilirubinomètres (outils de surveillance de la jaunisse chez les nouveau-nés) destinés à faciliter les soins à domicile. 

Le personnel des opérations Kidd et le site Sudbury INO dans le nord de l’Ontario respectent leurs engagements vis-à-vis de leur communauté en recueillant des fonds pour ceux qui sont dans le besoin. En 2019, l’organisme United Way/Centraide Nord-Est Ontario (UWNCEO) a reconnu les efforts de levée de fonds de ces deux sites, dont l’engagement en faveur de cet organisme se poursuit à ce jour.

Soutenir des solutions de santé novatrices pour les enfants

Soutenir des solutions de santé novatrices pour les enfants

Les Installations Kidd et Sudbury INO s’unissent et remportent le Prix du leader communautaire 2018

Les Installations Kidd et Sudbury INO s’unissent et remportent le Prix du leader communautaire 2018

Nous comptons sur nos employés pour mettre en œuvre cet engagement envers la communauté et nous avons la chance qu'ils le fassent. Nous pouvons même nous vanter que certains d’entre eux soient des leaders au sein des diverses communautés que nous touchons. Par exemple, Amélie Rouleau a été reconnue par l’organisme Women in Mining dans le cadre de son classement bisannuel des « 100 Global Inspirational Women in Mining » (100 femmes inspirantes du secteur minier dans le monde), pour son travail dans l’élaboration et le maintien du « permis social d’exploiter » la mine Raglan en agissant auprès des communautés inuites proches de la mine.

Un autre exemple est celui de Gloria Morissette, chimiste principale responsable de l’analyse des échantillons d’eau. Elle met sa passion pour l’environnement naturel au service de sa communauté en servant comme gardienne agréée de la faune auprès de l’organisme qu'elle dirige et qu'elle a fondé en 2015, Turtle Pond Wildlife Centre.

Participation des communautés autochtones

Nous continuons d’entretenir des relations solides et progressives avec les communautés autochtones proches de nos exploitations.

Mine Raglan en est un bon exemple : construite dans un endroit éloigné, à l’écart des réseaux de services publics, reposant sur la première entente sur les répercussions et les avantages (ERA) conclue avec un groupe autochtone au Canada, elle continue d’incarner et de faire évoluer les principes de l’Accord Raglan signé en 1995 avec cinq communautés inuites partenaires.

Nous vous invitons à lire l’Accord Raglan, ainsi que les propos d’Aida Puxley, une employée inuite de la mine Raglan, qui aide à l’embauche de personnel issu de la communauté inuite et leur apporte un soutien pour faciliter leur intégration au milieu de travail.

L’Entente Raglan

L’Entente Raglan

Rencontre avec Aida Puxley, conseillère en recrutement inuit à Mine Raglan

Rencontre avec Aida Puxley, conseillère en recrutement inuit à Mine Raglan

De plus, la Mine Raglan, à titre d’exploitant dans l’Arctique canadien, reconnaît l’importance d’agir de façon responsable dans cet environnement unique, et apporte avec elle un long passé de prise en compte des préoccupations environnementales des collectivités autochtones vivant à proximité de ses activités.

Nous avons la chance d’avoir une longue histoire et des liens étroits avec les communautés que nous avons aidées à se développer à travers le Canada, et nous continuerons à appuyer ce développement à l’avenir.