20210922 Taking Advantage of the Sun - Article lead.jpg

Taking Advantage of the Sun

Author: Glencore Canada | Date: 22/09/2021

The following article was written by Marc-Antoine Dufour, Energy Efficiency Engineer at Raglan Mine and was originally printed in Raglan Mine's employee newsletter, the Katinniapik.

Raglan Mine continues its efforts to reduce its carbon footprint in collaboration with its renewable energy partner, Tugliq Energy. Through the latter’s initiative, the development of a photovoltaic solar park began in 2020.

In July 2021, the solar park was completed adding to the two wind turbines that have been in operation since 2014 and 2018, respectively, and which already provide more than 10% of the energy required to operate the mine.

Raglan Mine's installations are located at the extreme limit of Northern Quebec where they operate four underground nickel mines, which are among the richest base metal mines in the world.

This project’s objective is to assess the performance of solar energy production in Canada’s Far North. The new facility consists of 108 panels in total, which will generate 40 kilowatt-peak (kWp) of energy and are located at the Mine 2 site, near the wind turbines. Like the wind turbines, the facility is operated and maintained by Tugliq

The power generated by the cells will be converted from direct to alternating current through an invertor, in order to be integrated into the 25-kilovolt (kV) distribution network and help power the Katinniq site, as well as the Mine 2, Mine 3, Qakimajurq, PM8H and PM14 sites. 

Bifacial panels capture solar radiation reflected off the snow, ensuring a higher performance and helping melt the snow that may accumulate at the top of the panels.

The renewable energy produced will be added to that of the wind turbines to mitigate Raglan Mine’s fossil fuel consumption.

20210922 Taking Advantage of the Sun - Article lead.jpg

Tirer parti du soleil

Auteur: Glencore Canada | Date: 22/09/2021

L'article suivant a été écrit par Marc-Antoine Dufour, ingénieur – Efficacité énergétique à Mine Raglan et a été initialement imprimé dans le bulletin des employés de Mine Raglan, le Katinniapik.

Mine Raglan poursuit ses efforts afin de réduire son empreinte carbone, accompagnée de Tugliq Énergie, son partenaire en énergies renouvelables. Sous l’initiative de ce dernier, le développement d’un parc de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques a débuté en 2020.

En juillet 2021, le parc est venu s’ajouter aux deux éoliennes en opération depuis 2014 et 2018 et qui fournissent déjà plus de 10 % de l’énergie nécessaire à l’exploitation de la mine.

Les activités de Mine Raglan se déroulent à la limite nord du Québec. Mine Raglan exploite présentement quatre mines souterraines de nickel, qui figurent parmi les mines de métaux de base les plus riches au monde.

Ce projet a pour objectif d’évaluer la performance de la production d’énergie solaire dans les conditions du Grand Nord canadien. La nouvelle installation compte 108 panneaux au total, qui génèreront une production énergétique de 40 kWc et qui sont situés sur le site de Mine 2, à proximité des éoliennes. Comme ces dernières, l’installation est opérée et entretenue par Tugliq.  

L’électricité générée par les cellules sera convertie de courant continu à courant alternatif au moyen d’un onduleur afin d’être intégrée sur le réseau de distribution 25 kV et de participer à l’alimentation du site Katinniq ainsi que de Mine 2, Mine 3, Qakimajurq, PM8H et PM14.  

Les panneaux bifaces ont pour caractéristique de capter le rayonnement solaire se reflétant sur la neige, permettant ainsi d’obtenir un plus haut rendement et de faire fondre la neige qui pourrait s’être accumulée sur leur partie supérieure. 

L’énergie renouvelable produite s’additionnera à celle des éoliennes afin d’atténuer la consommation d’énergies fossiles de Mine Raglan.