20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Header.png

Back to Insights & stories

Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change

Author: Glencore Canada | Date: 18/02/2020

Raglan Mine, located in the extreme north of the province of Quebec, is currently participating in an initiative in Salluit, Deception Bay, and Kangiqsujuaq to help promote safer travel in the face of climate change, given its more severe impact in northern environments.

Ice cover plays a significant role for the safe travel of local communities and industry. The communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq rely on ice cover to facilitate their traditional activities. Raglan Mine operates expeditions to transport mineral extracts via Deception Bay. Climate change is rendering this travel increasingly risky due to inconsistencies in ice cover and the challenge of measuring ice thickness.

Guided by the wish of the regional organizations, Raglan Mine began collaborating with them to establish a sea ice monitoring project in 2015. The project established a framework to document seasonal sea ice in three bays located in northern Nunavik using satellite images, time-lapse cameras, underwater sonars, as well as traditional Inuit knowledge to ensure a broad understanding of the ice system. 

20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Scene1.jpg
20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Scene3.jpg

The monitoring of traditional trails in the communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq was implemented too (Raglan Mine is situated between these two communities). These traditional trails include both in-land stretches where snow on the ground is essential and sea-ice sections where ice thickness is an important factor.

A website organizes and makes available to communities, industry, and researchers the data collected during the project, including ice freezing and melting sequences (and their respective dates), ice cover growth and ice thickness. This information supports an improved understanding of the diverse conditions of coastal ice, which is useful for developing and reinforcing thermodynamic models of sea ice to improve the safety of its users.

In addition to sea ice monitoring, the cameras installed in Deception Bay transmit photos by satellite hourly and are made available on the Cameras at Marine Infrastructures in Nunavik (CAIMAN) website.

Anyone can visit the website, view the latest photos and read environmental observations, such as temperature, water level, humidity, pressure, condition, wind speed and direction, which inform and guide safe travel decisions. In addition to cameras on remote trails, an emergency button is available and, when pressed, a photograph of the individual in distress is sent to the authorities in Salluit or Kangiqsujuaq.

20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Camera.PNG
20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Emergency button.PNG
Cameras installed on remote trails come equipped with an emergency button, which, when pressed, takes a photo of the individual in distress and notifies the authorities in Salluit or Kangiqsujuaq.

Community collaboration and ownership

The project is a collaboration between the Kativik Regional Government (KRG), Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), the northern villages of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq, and Raglan Mine. And it was supported by a Polar Knowledge Canada grant called “Safe Passage.”

This project would not have been possible without the involvement of all the guides and land users. Inuit from the communities of Salluit and Kangiqsujuaq assisted with ice and snow measurements and making local resources (e.g. boats, divers, snowmobiles, etc.) available to facilitate equipment installation.

The research group trained additional local resources on camera installation and maintenance, data retrieval, measurement protocols, and the use of satellite imagery to help communities take ownership of ice monitoring in the long-term.

20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Header.png

Retourner à Informations et articles

Favoriser des déplacements sécuritaires face aux changements climatiques

Auteur: Glencore Canada | Date: 18/02/2020

Située dans l’extrême nord de la province de Québec, Mine Raglan participe actuellement à une initiative à Salluit, Baie-Déception et Kangiqsujuaq dans le but de favoriser des déplacements sécuritaires face aux changements climatiques dont l’incidence est plus grande dans les milieux nordiques.

La couverture de glace joue un rôle important dans les déplacements sécuritaires pour les communautés locales et l’industrie. Les communautés de Salluit et de Kangiqsujuaq comptent sur la couverture de glace pour faciliter leurs activités traditionnelles. Mine Raglan organise des expéditions pour le transport des minéraux extraits via Baie-Déception. Les changements climatiques rendent ces déplacements de plus en plus risqués en raison des irrégularités dans la couverture de glace et de la difficulté à mesurer l’épaisseur de la glace.

Guidée par le souhait des organisations régionales, Mine Raglan a commencé à collaborer avec elles pour mettre en place un projet de surveillance des glaces de mer en 2015. Le projet a permis d’établir un cadre pour documenter la glace de mer saisonnière dans trois baies situées au nord du Nunavik à l’aide d’images par satellite, d’appareils photo avec prises de vues à intervalle, des sonars sous-marins, en plus d’avoir recours au savoir traditionnel des Inuits afin d’assurer une bonne compréhension du système de glace.

20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Scene1.jpg
20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Scene3.jpg

La surveillance des sentiers traditionnels dans les communautés de Salluit et Kangiqsujuaq a également été mise en œuvre (Mine Raglan est située entre ces deux communautés). Ces sentiers traditionnels comprennent à la fois des tronçons terrestres où la neige sur le sol est essentielle et des tronçons de glace de mer où l’épaisseur de la glace constitue un facteur important.

Un site Web contribue à organiser les données recueillies au cours du projet et met ces données à la disposition des communautés, de l’industrie et des chercheurs. On y trouve notamment les séquences de gel et de fonte de la glace (et les dates respectives), la croissance de la couverture de glace ainsi que l’épaisseur de la glace. Ces informations permettent de mieux comprendre les diverses conditions de la glace côtière, ce qui s’avère utile pour mettre au point et renforcer les modèles thermodynamiques de la glace de mer en vue d’améliorer la sécurité des usagers.

En plus de la surveillance de la glace de mer, les appareils photo installés à Baie-Déception transmettent des photos par satellite toutes les heures et sont accessibles dans le site Web CAIMAN (Caméras aux infrastructures maritimes du Nunavik).

Tout le monde peut visiter ce site Web, voir les photos récentes et lire les observations sur l’environnement, telles que la température, le niveau d’eau, l’humidité, la pression, les conditions, la vitesse et la direction du vent. Ces observations éclairent et guident les décisions en matière de déplacements sécuritaires. En plus des appareils photo installés dans les sentiers éloignés, un bouton d’urgence y est accessible, et si quelqu’un appuie sur ce bouton, une photo de la personne en détresse est envoyée aux autorités de Salluit ou de Kangiqsujuaq.

20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Camera.PNG
20200218 Promoting Safe Travel in the Face of Climate Change - Emergency button.PNG
Les appareils photo installés dans les sentiers éloignés sont équipés d'un bouton d'urgence qui, lorsque quelqu’un appuie dessus, permet de prendre une photo de la personne en détresse et de le signaler aux autorités de Salluit ou de Kangiqsujuaq.

Collaboration communautaire et appropriation

Le projet est le fruit d’une collaboration entre le gouvernement régional de Kativik (KRG), l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), les villages nordiques de Salluit et Kangiqsujuaq et Mine Raglan. De plus, Savoir polaire Canada a accordé une subvention, appelée « Safe Passage » (passage sécuritaire), en appui au projet.

Ce projet n’aurait pas été possible sans la participation de tous les guides et usagers du territoire. Les Inuits des communautés de Salluit et Kangiqsujuaq ont apporté leur aide pour mesurer la glace et la neige et fournir les ressources locales (bateaux, plongeurs, motoneiges, etc.) afin de faciliter l’installation de l’équipement.

Le groupe de recherche a formé des ressources locales supplémentaires pour voir à l’installation et l’entretien des appareils photo, à la récupération des données, aux protocoles de mesure et à l’utilisation de l’imagerie par satellite afin que les communautés puissent s’approprier la surveillance de la glace à long terme.