20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Header.jpg

Back to Insights & stories

Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of ‘Canada’s Safest Mine Operation’

Author: Glencore Canada | Date: 01/05/2021

Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine jointly took home the 2020 John T. Ryan National Trophy for the best safety performance in Canada in the Metal Mines category from the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).

Both part of the Glencore Group, Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine were recognized as the two metal mines with the lowest reported injury frequency rate across the country in 2020. In fact, these two mining operations achieved the best health and safety performance in their history.

20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Matagami Mine Site.jpg
20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Raglan Mine Site.jpg
Matagami Mine (left) and Raglan Mine (right) took home the 2020 John T. Ryan National Trophy for having the best safety performance in country.

Matagami Mine last won this award in 1972. As for Raglan Mine, this is the second year in a row and the third time in nearly 25 years of operations that the team has received this prestigious Canada-wide award.

The outstanding safety performances from both facilities demonstrates our focus on becoming a safety leader in our industry, creating a workplace without fatalities, injuries or occupational diseases.

This award highlights the contribution our workers make in bringing the SafeWork framework to life in our facilities each and every day. SafeWork aims to provide everyone within our business with the knowledge and tools to perform every task safely; the key message is that every individual has the authority to stop unsafe work.

20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - COVID1.png
20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - COVID2.png

These results and this award are even more remarkable as they occurred during a unique year marked by the COVID-19 pandemic and the challenges that accompanied it.

We congratulate everyone involved in bringing the 2020 John T. Ryan National Trophy home.

20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Header.jpg

Retourner à Informations et articles

Mine Matagami et Mine Raglan obtiennent le titre d’« Exploitation minière la plus sécuritaire au Canada »

Auteur: Glencore Canada | Date: 01/05/2021

Mine Matagami et Mine Raglan ont remporté conjointement le Trophée national John T. Ryan 2020 décerné par l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole pour le meilleur rendement en sécurité au Canada dans la catégorie Mines métallifères.

Faisant partie du groupe Glencore, Mine Matagami et Mine Raglan ont été reconnues à titre de mines de métaux ayant le plus faible taux de fréquence des blessures signalées dans tout le pays en 2020. En fait, ces deux exploitations minières ont obtenu le meilleur rendement en santé et sécurité de leur histoire.

20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Matagami Mine Site.jpg
20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - Raglan Mine Site.jpg
Mine Matagami (à gauche) et Mine Raglan (à droite) ont remporté le Trophée national John T. Ryan 2020 pour avoir obtenu le meilleur rendement en sécurité au pays.

Mine Matagami avait remporté ce prix pour la dernière fois en 1972. Pour Mine Raglan, c’est la deuxième année consécutive et la troisième fois en près de 25 ans d’exploitation que l’équipe reçoit ce prestigieux prix pancanadien.

Les performances exceptionnelles en sécurité des deux exploitations démontrent notre volonté de devenir un chef de file en sécurité dans notre industrie et de créer un milieu de travail exempt de décès, de blessures ou de maladies professionnelles.

Cette récompense souligne la contribution qu’apportent nos travailleurs pour concrétiser le programme SafeWork dans nos installations tous les jours. SafeWork vise à fournir à tous les employés qui travaillent dans notre entreprise les connaissances et les outils leur permettant d’effectuer leurs tâches de manière sécuritaire, le message clé étant que toutes les personnes ont le droit d’arrêter un travail dangereux.

20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - COVID1.png
20210501 Matagami Mine and Raglan Mine Earn Position of Canadas Safest Mine Operation - COVID2.png

Ces résultats et ce prix sont d’autant plus remarquables qu’ils ont été obtenus au cours d’une année unique marquée par la pandémie de COVID-19 et les défis qui l’ont accompagnée.

Nous félicitons tous les employés qui ont contribué à remporter le Trophée national John T. Ryan 2020.