End of an Era at Matagami Mine - Vintage photo.png

Making History in Matagami

Author: Glencore Canada | Date: 24/06/2022

Operations at Matagami Mine officially wrapped up on June 23, closing an important chapter in the history of this small community of nearly 1,400 residents in northern Quebec. Mining has always been the driving force behind development in Matagami. Since the first mine opened in 1960, thousands of workers from around the world have come to the area.

It’s the end of an era and a fitting celebration was in order. Glencore invited residents and mine employees to a farewell celebration on June 10 and 11 to commemorate the closing of the mine and give everyone one last opportunity to get together. The event, entitled "One last tonne of zinc, one big tonne of love!", delighted attendees with musical performances, fireworks, bouncy castles, campfires, and more.

Employees give touching accounts of their time at Matagami Mine in the commemorative video above.

I had the pleasure of starting my career in Matagami a number of years ago. I came away with fond memories and experience that has served me well throughout my worklife. I am very pleased we were able to find a solid partner to relaunch exploration at the Matagami mining camp this year. Thank you, Matagami!

Aline Côté, Co-Lead of Zinc Industrial Assets

Matagami owes its very existence to the mining industry, and for nearly 60 years we have worked hand in hand with our partner in pursuit of mutual success. It is very important that we close this chapter constructively and lay the foundation for the future of our community. Matagami Mine was one of our town’s driving forces right up until the last day of operations.

René Dubé, Mayor of Matagami

End of an Era at Matagami Mine - Vintage photo.png

Une page d’histoire se tourne à Matagami

Auteur: Glencore Canada | Date: 24/06/2022

C’est le 23 juin qu’ont cessé officiellement les opérations à Mine Matagami, tournant ainsi la page sur une partie importante de l’histoire de cette petite communauté de près de 1400 personnes du Nord-Du-Québec. L’exploitation minière a été au cœur du développement de Matagami qui a accueilli depuis l’ouverture de sa première mine dans les années 1960 des milliers de travailleurs de partout dans le monde. 

Il s’agit de la fin d’un chapitre important que Glencore a souhaité souligner dignement. La communauté et les employés de Mine Matagami ont été conviés à des festivités d’au revoir les 10 et 11 juin afin de marquer la fin des opérations et d’offrir à tous une dernière occasion de rassemblement. Sous le thème Une dernière tonne de zinc, une tonne d’amour! spectacles de musique, feux d’artifice, jeux gonflables, feu de camp se sont succédés pour le plus grand plaisir des participants!

Des employés évoquent de manière touchante leur passage à Mine Matagami dans la vidéo commémorative ci-dessus..

J’ai eu le plaisir de commencer ma vie professionnelle à Matagami il y a plusieurs années, j’en conserve d’excellents souvenirs et une expérience qui m’a été utile tout au long de ma carrière. Je suis très heureuse que nous ayons pu cette année trouver un partenaire solide en mesure de relancer l’exploration du camp minier de Matagami. Merci Matagami!

Aline Côté, co-chef actifs industriels Zinc

Matagami doit son origine à l’industrie minière et nous avons su, depuis maintenant près de 60 ans, travailler main dans la main avec notre partenaire pour contribuer au succès de nos organisations respectives. Il est primordial pour nous de clore ce chapitre de la façon la plus constructive possible et d’établir les bases du futur de notre communauté. Jusqu’au dernier jour, Mine Matagami aura contribué à la vitalité de notre ville.

René Dubé, maire de Matagami