Back to Insights & stories

Adapting Health & Wellness Programs to a COVID-19 Reality

Author: Glencore Canada | Date: 21/04/2020

Glencore’s Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (Sudbury INO) is adapting to ensure that employee health and safety continues to be a top priority during the coronavirus pandemic.

During these challenging times, it is perhaps more important than ever before to focus on our overall well-being. While respecting the enhanced safety measures put in place across all of Sudbury INO’s sites, with the help of Med-I-Well Services, a local workplace wellness company, we continue to provide health enhancement and health coach programming through virtual means to our workforce and their family members, as well as contractors and retirees.

Alt
Med-I-Well Services brochure highlights the various virtual health and wellness programming they offer to Sudbury INO employees.

Numerous live stretching sessions, fitness breaks, safety meetings and line-up presentations, and one-on-one coaching is now available using a virtual platform. With many employees’ home and work life having changed considerably over the last few weeks, we are also making available guides, packages and videos ranging from healthy eating and cooking, self-care, dealing with adversity, and at-home stretching and workout programs.   

Coaches have also made it a priority to reach out to employees participating in the Health Coach program via phone and email directly offering help and support for them and their families alike.

Alt
Employees participate in a virtual live stretching session.

Involvement with the Infectious Disease Task Force

To support our Infectious Disease Task Force response to COVID-19, we have also asked Med-I-Well Services to conduct a Quality Improvement Assessment and Best Practices Report to ensure that all sites across Sudbury INO are optimizing their safety and health measures as they deal with this pandemic. 

We have sent lead Med-I-Well Services Health Coaches to all sites to observe our current screening processes and safety measures. All observations to improve the safety and health of Sudbury INO employees will be reported back to the Infectious Disease Task Force and site managers along with recommendations to strengthen their efforts.

20200421 Adapting Health and Wellness Programs to a COVID19 Reality - Header.png

Retourner à Informations et articles

Adapter les programmes de santé et de bien-être à la réalité de la COVID-19

Auteur: Glencore Canada | Date: 21/04/2020

Les Installations de nickel intégrées de Glencore à Sudbury (Sudbury INO) s’adaptent afin que la santé et la sécurité des employés demeurent toujours une priorité absolue pendant la pandémie du coronavirus.

En ces temps difficiles, il est peut-être plus important que jamais de nous concentrer sur notre bien-être général. Tout en respectant les mesures de sécurité renforcées qui ont été mises en place dans l’ensemble des sites de Sudbury INO, avec l’aide de Med-I-Well Services – une entreprise locale de mieux-être en milieu de travail –, nous continuons d’offrir de façon virtuelle des programmes d’amélioration de la santé et de conseil en santé à nos employés et aux membres de leur famille, de même qu’aux entrepreneurs et aux retraités.

La brochure de Med-I-Well Services présente les divers programmes de santé et de bien-être virtuels que l’entreprise offre aux employés de Sudbury INO.

La vie professionnelle et familiale de nombreux employés ayant considérablement changé au cours des dernières semaines, nous rendons également accessibles des guides, des programmes et des vidéos qui portent notamment sur l’alimentation saine et la cuisine santé, la santé personnelle, les moyens de contrer l’adversité ainsi que des étirements et des exercices à faire à domicile.

Les conseillers se sont également donné comme priorité de communiquer directement par téléphone et par courrier électronique avec les employés qui participent au programme « Conseiller en santé » afin de leur offrir, ainsi qu’à leur famille, une aide et un soutien.

Les employés participent à une séance virtuelle d’étirement en direct.

Participation au Groupe de travail sur les maladies infectieuses

Afin de soutenir les interventions de notre Groupe de travail sur les maladies infectieuses face à la COVID-19, nous avons aussi demandé à Med-I-Well Services de réaliser une évaluation de l’amélioration de la qualité et de produire un rapport sur les meilleures pratiques afin de nous assurer que tous les sites de Sudbury INO optimisent leurs mesures de sécurité et de santé dans le cadre de la gestion de cette pandémie. 

Nous avons envoyé des conseillers experts en santé de Med-I-Well Services dans tous les sites afin d’observer nos processus de dépistage et mesures de sécurité actuels. Toutes les observations visant à améliorer la sécurité et la santé des employés de Sudbury INO seront remises au Groupe de travail sur les maladies infectieuses et aux dirigeants des sites, de même que des recommandations visant à renforcer leurs efforts.